Financial & Economic Information / Insurance: Personal & Business
-
FDIC Hurricane Katrina: Information for Consumers & Bankers in the Affected Areas
http://www.fdic.gov/news/katrina/index.html - The FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation) is working cooperatively with all of the state and federal banking agencies and other organizations to determine the status of the financial institutions located in the affected areas. In an effort to provide information to those affected by Hurricane Katrina, we are developing information and providing links to answer your questions about your banks.
-
FEMA: How to Get Assistance
http://www.fema.gov/press/2005/resources_katrina.shtm - Covers personal, business, employee, student sand banking needs.
-
Small Business Administration: Hurricane Katrina Information
http://www.sba.gov/disaster_recov/index.html - Includes information on disaster recovery and application tools to apply for a disaster loan.
-
Hurricane Katrina Emergency Contracting Information
http://www.eps.gov/katrina.html - Due to the immediacy of emergency opportunities, it is unlikely that opportunities dealing with the hurricanes will be advertised through the FedBizOpps system. This site provides contact information for agencies coordinating disaster relief efforts for vendors looking to provide products or services in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi or Florida.
-
IRS Tax Relief in Disaster Situations
http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/0,,id=108362,00.html - Information on tax relief available to Hurricane Katrina victims. Includes links to IRS publications relevant to disaster losses.
-
American Bankers Association Hurricane Katrina
http://www.aba.com/Solutions/Recovery.htm - A wealth of information on policies and procedures for banking in the wake of Katrina. Includes helpful information and links for evacuees form the Gulf Coast.
-
Hurricane Insurance Information Center
http://www.disasterinformation.org/about.htm - In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, the U.S. insurance industry has established the Hurricane Insurance Information Center (HIIC). The HIIC provides on-the-spot information on the insurance industrys response, supplying claim filing tips and maintaining a dialogue with the public through an active consumer outreach program. The Center also acts as a primary source of insurance information to the media and offers information on insurance coverages and refers people to insurers, government agencies, and other sources of assistance.
-
LII Insurance Claims
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+insurance - Links to resources on insurance and financial claims in the aftermath of disasters.
-
Forbes Special Report: Hurricane Katrina
http://www.forbes.com/opinions/2005/09/01/hurricane-katrina-economic-impact-cx_0901katrinaland.html - The widespread devastation from Hurricane Katrina has taken an enormous toll on virtually every aspect of the United States economy and society. Those left homeless will take part in the biggest internal migration of people since the days of the Dust Bowl and the Great Depression. Area businesses both large and small might never recover. Countless lives will have to be rebuilt. In the wake of the biggest natural disaster in U.S. history, we look at Katrina's macro- and microeconomic impact on everything from oil to coffee beans, shrimp to bananas, and its impact on real estate, the automotive industry and tourism.
-
Bureau of Economic Analysis Hurricane Katrina FAQ
http://www.bea.gov/katrina/index.htm - Overview of the economic effects of Hurricane Katrina will be reflected in future BEA economic data.
-
Economist: Fallout From Katrina
http://economist.com/agenda/displayStory.cfm?story_id=4339099 - Coverage of the economic impact of Hurricane Katrina from The Economist, the premier online source for the analysis of world business and current affairs, providing authoritative insight and opinion on international news, world politics, business, finance, science and technology, as well as overviews of cultural trends and regular industry, business and country surveys.
-
Bloomberg: Special Report: Gulf Hurricanes
http://www.bloomberg.com/specialreport/katrina.html - Archive of online articles related to the economic impact of the 2005 hurricane season. Bloomberg is the leading global provider of data, news and analytics.
-
Business Week: Special Report Rebuilding After Katrina
http://www.businessweek.com/bwdaily/db_special/db_05katrina.htm - Archive of articles covering the economic impact of Hurricane Katrina.
-
Security Information for People Affected by Hurricane Katrina
http://www.ssa.gov/emergency/ - The Social Security Administration is doing everything it can to ensure that monthly payments get to beneficiaries affected by Hurricane Katrina and that applications for benefits will continue to be processed. Includes links to information on closures of SSA offices and openings in temporary locations, how to apply for aid, and information for SSA employees.
-
Replacing Your Vital Documents
http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/PublicSafety/Hurricane_Katrina_Recovery/Vital_Docs.shtml - Links to resources to replace lost or stolen vital documents such as change of address, bank records, birth/marriage/death certificates, damaged money, documents restoration, drivers licenses and vehicle registration, federal civilian personnel records, immigration documents, Louisiana vital records and IDs, medical information forms, Medicaid replacement cards, military records, passports, savings bonds recovery, social security cards, tax returns.
-
USDA Hurricane Katrina Relief Information
http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/!ut/p/_s.7_0_A/7_0_1OB?contentidonly=true&contentid=usdakatrina.xml - Updates on USDA recovery efforts and programs and information on the effects of Katrina on the agricultural industry.
Subject Guide |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait