Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Hurricane Katrina: Picking Up The Pieces  Tags: political_science_public_admin history law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=16013  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Disaster Relief--Surviving after the Storm             Print Page
  
 

Relief Agencies

Food Stamps for Evacuees:
http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns/
The Food and Nutrition Service, run by the US Department of Agriculture, has taken several actions to expedite and facilitate Food Stamp enrollment and receipt for evacuees of Hurricane Katrina in their destination states. See links in the Newsroom section at the upper right of the page.
Social Security Information for People Affected by Hurricane Katrina
http://www.ssa.gov/emergency/
The Social Security Administration is doing everything it can to ensure that monthly payments get to beneficiaries affected by Hurricane Katrina and that applications for benefits will continue to be processed. Includes links to information on closures of SSA offices and openings in temporary locations, how to apply for aid, and information for SSA employees.
The Red Cross:
www.redcross.org
Contact information for local Red Cross centers can be found by scrolling down the left-hand column and entering a zip code at: http://www.redcross.org/news/0,1074,0_312_,00.html
The Salvation Army:
http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/
Information on disaster relief, how to find your local Salvation Army office, and how to volunteer.
FEMA: The Federal Emergency Management Agency:
http://www.fema.gov/
Hurricane Katrina Information:
http://www.fema.gov/press/2005/resources_katrina.shtm
Disaster Assistance Process For Individuals:
http://www.fema.gov/about/process/
National Emergency Resource Registry (NERR) Website and Call Center:
1-888-4USADOC
https://www.swern.gov/
Activated in the aftermath of Katrina, the Commerce department, Through the National Emergency Resource Registry (NERR), is mobilizing the resources and good nature of businesses across the country to help meet the needs of thousands of businesses devastated by Hurricane Katrina. This call center will take calls from affected businesses wanting to rebuild in the wake of Hurricane Katrina or businesses that want to donate supplies, funds, or other items.
USDA Hurricane Katrina Relief Information:
http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/!ut/p/_s.7_0_A/7_0_1OB?contentidonly=true&contentid=usdakatrina.xml
Updates on USDA recovery efforts and programs.
Department of Defense Relief and Recovery Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.defenselink.mil/home/features/2005/katrina/index.html
Relief information for families of military members. Includes links to state-level contacts for assistance.
The National Guard Hurricane Katrina Page:
http://www.ngb.army.mil/features/katrina/
Information for families of deployed soldiers who were affected by the storm, emergency phone numbers, and news link and photos of National Guard work on Hurricane Katrina relief efforts.
ReliefWeb, Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/dbc.nsf/doc108?OpenForm&rc=2&emid=TC-2005-000144-USA
ReliefWeb is the United Nations global hub for time-critical humanitarian information on Complex Emergencies and Natural Disasters. Includes links to relief available for a variety of sectors including agriculture, shelter, health, water and sanitation, food, rehabilitation and refugees. Includes lists of relief donations from non-US countries.
LII Hurricane Katrina Animal Rescue:
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+(animal+or+pet);no_stem=1
Links to agencies assisting with the rescue of pets and other animals as part of the Hurricane Katrina recovery process.
Operation KARE: Katrina Assistance Relief Effort in Arkansas:
http://www.arkansas.gov/abep/Mobility_Programs_KARE.htm
Operation KARE, the Katrina Assistance and Relief Effort, is designed to assist evacuees from Hurricane Katrina. Operation KARE was organized in the days following the hurricane by Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee.
Hurricane Help For Schools:
http://www.ed.gov/news/hurricane/index.html
From the U.S. Department of Education, users can post information on what their school or organization needs or what they can donate.
National Restaurant Association Katrina Relief Efforts
http://www.restaurant.org/katrina/
Include a database for finding or posting jobs for displaced restaurant or hospitality industry workers. Also includes information on how restaurants are responding in the wake of Hurricane Katrina and on how restaurants can help further.
 

General

Replacing Your Vital Documents
http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/PublicSafety/Hurricane_Katrina_Recovery/Vital_Docs.shtml
Links to resources to replace lost or stolen vital documents such as change of address, bank records, birth/marriage/death certificates, damaged money, documents restoration, drivers licenses and vehicle registration, federal civilian personnel records, immigration documents, Louisiana vital records and IDs, medical information forms, Medicaid replacement cards, military records, passports, savings bonds recovery, social security cards, tax returns.
LII Survivor Services
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+"survivor+service"
An annotated list of websites with information on resources and services for survivors of Hurricane Katrina.
US Dept. of Homeland Security: Hurricane Katrina, What Government is Doing
http://www.dhs.gov/interweb/assetlibrary/katrina.htm
Compilation of information and statistics of what various agencies of the federal government have done and are continuing to do in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Includes links to relevant agency web pages on Hurricane Katrina recovery efforts.
American Bankers Association Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.aba.com/Solutions/Recovery.htm
A wealth of information on policies and procedures for banking in the wake of Katrina. Includes helpful information and links for evacuees form the Gulf Coast.
Hurricane Insurance Information Center
http://www.disasterinformation.org/about.htm
In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, the U.S. insurance industry has established the Hurricane Insurance Information Center (HIIC). The HIIC provides on-the-spot information on the insurance industrys response, supplying claim filing tips and maintaining a dialogue with the public through an active consumer outreach program. The Center also acts as a primary source of insurance information to the media and offers information on insurance coverages and refers people to insurers, government agencies, and other sources of assistance.
DisasterHelp, Hurricane Katrina:
https://disasterhelp.gov/portal/jhtml/community.jhtml;jsessionid=PJVYAQ23IAEUHQFIAAICFEY?index=2&community=Hurricane&id=2010180003
Comprehensive list of links to agencies and programs pertinent to Katrina relief efforts.
Disaster Assistance Information & Contact Numbers (Louisiana):
http://www.ebr.lib.la.us/DisasterAssistanceInformation.htm
Developed by the East Baton Rouge library system, this web site provides a lengthy list of contact phone numbers and web sites for disaster assistance and information for Louisiana residents. Includes contacts for use by state employees.
Everything New Orleans: NOLA.COM
http://www.nola.com/
Scroll down the left-hand column for links to disaster relief information including FEMA FAQ, insurance contact numbers, and shelter information.
Louisiana Senator Mary L. Landrieus Official Page:
http://landrieu.senate.gov/hurricanes/index.cfm
Includes updates on areas of Louisiana hit by Hurricane Katrina and many helpful links about the hurricane and disaster recovery.
LII Disaster recoveryHurricane Katrina:
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+recovery
Comprehensive list of links to disaster relief and recovery information.
Louisiana.Gov Hurricane Katrina
http://katrina.louisiana.gov/
The State Of Louisiana's official website for dissemination of information concerning hurricane Katrina. This website has been established to provide the latest information and resources regarding relief and assistance provided by the state government for citizens impacted by Hurricane Katrina. This website is being deployed as an information and contact directory for the Louisiana Katrina Relief effort. Information is currently being collected and the site will be continuously updated. Please check back frequently.
 

Environmental Recovery/Cleanup

LII Flood Cleanup:
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+(flood+cleanup)
List of links to resources about flood recovery and relevant safety and health issues.
LII Environmental Factors:
http://lii.org/search?query=katrinaenvironment
List of web resources covering environmental issues in the Gulf Coast region relevant in the wake of Hurricane Katrina such as wetlands and bayous.
American Waterworks Association Hurricane Help Center
http://www.awwa.org/advocacy/katrina/
Following a recent meeting between AWWA, EPA, FEMA, DHS and other water organizations, the National Emergency Resource Registry (NERR) has been repurposed to accept Hurricane Katrina assistance offers from the Water / wastewater sector. The registry will help relief workers on the ground to match resources with needs in an efficient manner. AWWA is asking its member utilities, manufacturers, consultants and individuals to register offers of assistance at the SouthWest Emergency Response Network, which will be the central repository for Hurricane Katrina relief efforts.
NIEHS Response to Hurricane Katrina
http://www-apps.niehs.nih.gov/katrina/
As the environmental health research institute of the National Institutes of Health, the NIEHS is uniquely positioned to provide information on the sources and the potential human health impacts of those exposures and we are committed to supporting emergency responders with useful and readily accessible information. This site is targeted to provide environmental health information to frontline public health and safety workers deployed to impacted communities.
EPA: Hurricane Katrina Response:
http://www.epa.gov/katrina/index.html
US Environmental Protection Agency response updates. Page also includes links to health and safety information.
U.S. Department of the Interior:
http://www.doi.gov/
Updates on recovery efforts by the Dept. of the Interior and its offices and bureaus.
Louisiana Dept. of Environmental Quality:
http://www.deq.state.la.us/
Updates on DEQ efforts post-Katrina and updates on the quality of air, water, fish and vegetation.
Mississippi Dept. of Environmental Quality:
http://www.deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Main_Home?OpenDocument
Updates of post-Katrina environmental recovery efforts and safety precautions.
Disaster Preparedness:
http://msucares.com/disaster/index.html
From MSU Cares, A wealth of information for any household or farm on electricity and food and water safety and cleaning up after disasters, including clearing debris. Includes links to online MSU Extension publications on disaster concerns such as the basics for the home, livestock and poultry, nurseries and greenhouses, residential and commercial turf and electrical systems.
Hurricane Housing:
http://www.hurricanehousing.org/
To help individuals and families displaced by Hurricane Katrina, this site has both a search form to find housing by number of miles from New Orleans or by Zip Code and a form for those who would like to provide housing for these disaster victims. This service is provided by MoveOn.org.
HUD Hurricane Katrina Resource Page
http://www.hud.gov/katrina/index.cfm
Includes information housing resources and other relevant information for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Craigs List Housing for Katrina Survivors:
http://neworleans.craigslist.org/hhh/
KatrinaLost.Org
http://katrinalost.org/index.cfm
Free registration required to submit information, but registration is not required to search their database of information on housing and Katrina victims. Subscribers can receive email alerts if they receive a reply to their entry. Shelters can submit data as well.
NOLA View:
http://www.nola.com/weblogs/nola/
Blog where offers of short-term and long-term housing have been posted with contact information. Includes RSS Feed.
Find or Provide Accessible Housing for People With Disabilities:
http://www.katrinadisability.info/
Share your accessible home or find an accessible home. Includes informative links about various disabilities, accommodations, and relevant agencies.
Housing for Librarians:
http://www.solinet.net/whatsnew/whatsnew.cfm?doc_id=3759
SOLINET joins with others in calling on all who can to provide free shelter to library staff displaced from their homes by Hurricane Katrina. The Lexington (KY) Public Library is creating a database of information and providing it to the library associations in the affected states.
Habitat for Humanity
http://www.habitat.org/default.aspx
Information on Habitat for Humanity's recovery efforts and on its program Operation Home Delivery.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait