Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Hurricane Katrina: Picking Up The Pieces  Tags: political_science_public_admin history law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=16013  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Resources for Finding Loved Ones/Missing Persons             Print Page
  
 

Resources for Finding Loved Ones/Missing Persons

LII People Finders:
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+missing+people
Annotated list of web sites proving blogs and other internet services to assist with finding people displaced by Hurricane Katrina.
 

Blogs:

Katrina Checkin:
http://www.katrinacheckin.org/
Featuring free registration, this site allows users to post information on loved ones sought and found from various areas in Louisiana, Alabama and Mississippi. Users can choose to post in the Im OK area, or the Searching For area. Information should be posted according to the location that the person sought or found hails from (where they had their most current residence before Hurricane Katrina). Heavy use can occasionally render this site unavailable.
Find Katrina.Com:
http://findkatrina.com/
A free service, Find Katrina.Com allows users to post information and photos of loved ones missing after Hurricane Katrina. Includes a search feature.
Gulf Coast News
http://www.gulfcoastnews.com/
Home of the GCN SurvivorConnector Database. You may list the person or families you want to find in this easy to use interactive database. Detail is intentionally kept to the minimum necessary to let third parties inform you of your loved ones situation. Features mirror sites for the database for periods of heavy use.
MSNBC Blog Links for Katrina Survivors and Families
http://msnbc.msn.com/id/9144525/
Craigs List Lost & Found:
http://neworleans.craigslist.org/laf/
For those looking for missing family or friend. Includes a search feature to search the blog.
The Clarion Ledger Online:
http://www.clarionledger.com/apps/pbcs.dll/frontpage
Includes link to Clarion Ledger website blogs to help locate loved ones from various areas including Biloxi, Gulfport and New Orleans.
Missing Persons Board:
http://www.nowpublic.com/node/17228
NowPublic.Com has set up a missing persons board to help victims of Hurricane Katrina find those who go missing during the storm.
FirstGov Hurricane Katrina Recovery:
http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/PublicSafety/Hurricane_Katrina_Recovery.shtml
Includes links to resources for finding loved ones.
 

Louisiana

Nursing Home Residents: Evacuation Information
http://www.lnha.org/katrina/default.asp
From the Louisiana Nursing Home Association, this site offers a searchable database of resident names to assist loved-ones in tracking down nursing home residents who were evacuated. The database is updated constantly.
NOLA Refugees:
http://www.nolarefugees.com/
Free blog for posting information about loved ones sought and found fro people from the New Orleans metropolitan area and surrounding parishes.
Everything New Orleans: NOLA.COM:
http://www.nola.com/
Home page of the Times Picayune, the main New Orleans newspaper, NOLA.COM features a Missing Persons blog for posting information on loved ones sought and found and various area blogs for requesting or posting information on conditions in South Louisiana neighborhoods. Blogs are linked along the left hand column near the bottom of the page.
New Orleans Public Library Post-Katrina Contact List:
http://nopl.blogspot.com/
Updates and contact information fro NOPL staff past and present.
 

Agencies/Registries

KatrinaLost.Org
http://katrinalost.org/index.cfm
Free registration required to submit information, but registration is not required to search their database of information on victims and housing. Subscribers can receive email alerts if they receive a reply to their entry. Shelters can submit data as well.
Air America Radio's Public Voicemail
1-866-217-6255

http://www.airamericaradio.com/katrina/
Air America Radio's Public Voicemail is a way for disconnected people to communicate in the wake of Katrina. Here's how it works: Call the toll-free number above, enter your everyday phone number, and then record a message. Other people who know your everyday phone number (even if it doesn't work anymore) can call Emergency Voicemail, enter the phone number they associate with you, and hear your message. You can also search for messages left by people whose phone numbers you know. Air America Radio will leave Public Voicemail in service for as long as this crisis continues. You can call it whenever you are trying to locate someone, or if you are trying to be found.
Hurricane Katrina Survivors:
http://www.hurricanekatrinasurvivors.com/home/
Website dedicated to posting information on people lost and found in the wake of the hurricane. Photos may be submitted for display on the site.
NIUSR Report Missing/Confirm Safety:
http://www.niusr.org/external/index.cfm?cid=1014&fuseaction=inquiry.home
Users can input information on missing persons, and that information will only be used to confirm the safety of those affected by Hurricane Katrina. From the National Institute for Urban Search and Rescue.
National Next of Kin Registry:
http://www.nokr.org/nok/restricted/home.htm
The National Next Of Kin Registry (NOKR) is a new high-speed solution to locating your Next Of Kin in urgent situations. NOKR is designed as an emergency contact system to help if you or your family member is missing, injured or deceased. NOKR is a free service to the public as well as the Local and State agencies using the search service.
The Salvation Army SATERN Emergency Radio Network:
http://www.satern.org/
Allows users to submit a health and welfare information request about loved ones in disaster areas. Note that heavy use of this site occasionally makes certain features unavailable.
The Red Cross:
"Loved Ones" hotline: 1-877 LOVED 1s (1-877-568-3317)
http://www.familylinks.icrc.org/katrina
Toll-free number for assistance in tracking down missing persons in the wake of Hurricane Katrina; this number may be down temporarily due to the heavy volume of calls. The web site allows users to post the names of family members who are missing and to post the names of those who are safe.
CNN Hurricane Katrina Safe List:
http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/2005/hurricanes/list/
CNN.com has been posting the names of those who wish to let loved ones know they are all right after the storm.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait