Primary Sources
-
Primary Sources at MSU
http://library.msstate.edu/research/primarysources.asp - This resource from the MSU Libraries' homepage provides a description of primary sources and what kinds of materials are available here at MSU, along with tips for locating those items. It provides links to collections at other institutions as well.
-
American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html - Hosted by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a searchable collection of more than seven million digital items. Besides written documents, there are photographs and audio files.
-
Best of History Web Sites
http://www.besthistorysites.net/ - There are millions of web sites devoted to different historical events and issues, but how do you know which are the best. Best of History Web Sites is a list of valuable web sites that have been recommended by historians and history enthusiasts. This site can serve as a portal to numerous useful sites.
-
Bureau of the Census. Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. White Plains, NY: Kraus International Publications, 1989.
Ref HA 202 .H57 1989 - Historical statistics can be difficult to find, but the Historical Statistics of the United States is an excellent place to start.
-
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
http://chla.library.cornell.edu/ - Created to preserve important texts of American agriculture, CHLA contains many primary sources about rural life and sociology.
-
Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/ - Digitized items from the University of North Carolina's amazing Southern History Collection are available to distance users through this site. Among the topics covered are North Carolina during the Civil War and Southern literature.
-
Guide to History on the Web
http://chnm.gmu.edu/assets/historyweb/historyweb.php - Maintained by the Center for New History, the Guide to History on the Web is a search engine for quality history web sites. This is an excellent place to start looking for history web sites.
-
Historical Text Archives
http://historicaltextarchive.com/ - Created and maintained by MSU's own Don Mabry, the Historical Text Archives is a portal to countless text files of historical information. In addition to primary sources, there are a number links to secondary historical works as well.
-
Making of America (University of Michigan)
http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/ - A collection of approximately 10,000 digitized books and 50,000 journal articles from the antebellum period through Reconstruction.
-
Making of America (Cornell University)
http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/ - Set up almost exactly as the MOA site at the University of Michigan, Cornell provides access to 267 monographs and over 100,000 journal articles.
Originally created by Sara Morris, created 08/14/02. This page is maintained by the Reference Department.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait