Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

U.S. History Research Guide  Tags: united_states history  

A quick guide to history research, including researching historiography and locating primary sources.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=15973  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historiography and Historians             Print Page
  
 

Historiography and Historians

Understanding the changing ideas of historians throughout time is an important aspect in the discipline of history. These books provide information dealing with different interpretations of historical topics as well as the individuals sharing their ideas with the world.

Boyd, Kelly, ed. Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writings. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
Ref D14 .E53 1999
Covering all areas of history, this two volume set provides criticism about historians as well as historiographical essays on selected topics.
Directory of American Scholars. Lancaster, PA: Gale Group,
Ref LA2311 .C32
This frequently published work provides biographical information on scholars in the humanities and social sciences.
Messenger, Charles. Readers Guide to Military History. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Ref D25 .R35 2001
International in scope, this volume contains historiographical essays on a variety of military history topics.
Parish, Peter J., eds. Readers Guide to American History. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Ref E178 .R43 1997
Arranged topically this work provides brief historiographical essays on important topics in American history.
Scanlon, Jennifer and Shaaron Cosner, eds. American Women Historians, 1700s - 1900s: A Biographical Dictionary. Westpoint, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Ref E175.45 .S27 1996
Arranged in dictionary format. This volume covers historians whose information is likely to be missing from other sources.
Wilson, Clyde N., ed. American Historians 1607-1865. Detroit: Gale, 1984..
Ref E175.45 .A48 1984
This edition of the Dictionary of Literary Biography provides biographical as well as critical information about early American historians.
Wilson, Clyde N., ed. American Historians 1866-1912. Detroit: Gale, 1986..
Ref E175.45 .A483 1986
Like the other editions of the Dictionary of Literary Biography covering historians, this title includes information about important historians from America.
Wilson, Clyde N., ed. Twentieth Century American Historians Detroit: Gale, 1984..
Ref E175.45 .T85 1983
Printed in 1983, this work does not cover all the American historians of the twentieth century, but does have biographical and critical interpretations for those who are included.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDavid Nolen
Contact Info:
325-7682
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait