Guides and Writing
- Benjamin, Jules R. A Student's Guide to History. This online version of Benjamin's A Student Guide to History provides an introduction to the various aspects of writing a history research paper.
- Book Reviews Research Guide This guide covers how to use various library resources to find scholarly book reviews covering many topics, including American history.
- Rael, Patrick. Reading, Writing, and Researching for History. Created by the Bowdoin College History Department, this is a valuable site for the novice and experienced history student. Included on the website are guides for writing book reviews, essays, take home tests, and, of course, research papers.
- Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
Ref LB 2369 .T8 1996 (Located behind the Reference Desk in the Ready Reference Collection.)
This writing manual is considered the authority for those working in the history discipline. - America: History & Life America: History & Life is the core database for American history. This database covers all historical topics for the United States and Canada. In addition to indexing scholarly articles, it includes book reviews, dissertations, and media reviews published after 1964. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Boston: J.R. Osgood & Company.
Ref AI 3 .P7 1882
Poole's indexes materials from 1802 to 1906. It is an excellent index for locating primary source material. - Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. New York: H. W. Wilson Company.
Ref AI 3 .R47
Before there were computers, there was Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. The Readers' Guide indexes popular magazines from 1890 to the present. In addition there are a number of scholarly journals includes as well. Overall this source can be used to find both primary and secondary sources. - WorldCat WorldCat is an excellent database to locate books and other materials not included in the Mississippi State University Libraries collection. In addition to books the database also includes archival collections. WorldCat is an excellent database to locate books and other materials not included in the Mississippi State University Libraries collection. In addition to books the database also includes archival collections.
- Writings on American History. Millwood, NY: KTO Press, 1902-1978.
Ref Z1236 .L331
This print index served as the pre-curser to America: History and Life. It indexes selective historical journals covering American history.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait