Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United Nations Research Guide  Tags: united_nations political_science history economics statistics mathematics_statistics law_government_documents political_science_public_admin  

Last update: Sep 14th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/United_Nations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistical Information             Print Page
  
 

Statistical Information

The icon indicates that you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.

Demographic Yearbook: Annuaire Démographique. New York: United Nations. Annually.
Ref. HA 17.D45 1st Issue (1948) - 26th Issue (1974) Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor
Ref. HA 17.D45 27th Issue (1975) to present Reference, Second Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.R/ 51st Issue (1999) to present United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
An international source of statistics that contains basic statistical data for over 200 countries or areas to meet the needs of demographers, economists, public-health workers and sociologists, among others. It presents general tables giving a world summary of basic demographic statistics, followed by tables on the size, distribution and trends in population, fertility, mortality, marriage and divorce, international migration and population census data.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. New York: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Monthly.
(shelved by title) v.2 (1948) to v.54 (2000) Bound Journals, First Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.Q/ v.55 (2001) to present United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
This publication presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and territories of the world. In addition, each month a selection of special tables shows annual and/or quarterly data on subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments. Most of these special tables are also published annually in the United Nations Statistical Yearbook.
Statistics - National Agencies and Compendia
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/romans/natlstats.html
This is a comprehensive resource linking to national statistics websites for almost every country in the world. This resource is hosted by the Jean and Alexander Heard Library at Vanderbilt University and was created by Brian Boling, a member of their Government Information Services department.
Lexis-Nexis Statistical
Access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. Lexis-Nexis Statistical also serves as the index for ASI (American Statistics Index) which is a microfiche collection housed in the Library’s Microforms Area.
Statistical Yearbook. New York: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Annually.
Ref. HA 12.5.U63 24th Issue (1972) to present Reference, Second Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.S/ 45th Issue (1998) to present United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
A comprehensive compendium of vital internationally comparable data for the analysis of socio-economic development at the world, regional and national levels. The Yearbook provides data on the world economy, its structure, major trends and current performance, as well as on issues such as population and social statistics, economic activity and international economic relations. Updated monthly by the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics.
Statistical Yearbook, (UNESCO). Paris: United Nations Educations, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Annually.
Ref. AZ 361.U45 1970-1983 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor
Ref. AZ 361.U45 1984 to present Reference, Second Floor
The data contained in this Yearbook is gathered from official replies to UNESCO questionnaires and special surveys but also from official reports and publications, and are then processed and compiled by staff of the UNESCO Division of Statistics.
UN Statistics Division
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/
Compendium of selected UN economic, demographic and social statistics available free or by subscription. Also includes references and direct links to national and international statistical publications.
UNdata
http://data.un.org
Since its foundation, the United Nations System has been collecting statistical information from Member States on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, transport and demographic and social statistics. The Division regularly publishes data updates, including the Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook, and books and reports on statistics and statistical methods. UNdata pools together major UN databases and those of several international organizations into a single internet environment.
World Statistics Pocketbook. New York: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Annually.
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.V/, 2000 to present, United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
This handy statistical pocketbook provides an easy-to-use international compilation of basic economic, social and environmental indicators for 209 countries and areas worldwide. It covers 57 key indicators in the areas of population, health, surface area, refugees, national accounts, currency, international trade, communications, education, culture, labor force, industrial production, environment and United Nations membership based on over 20 international statistical sources. The layout provides an easy-to-view comprehensive statistical profile of each country or area; and the notes on sources and definitions on indicators provide a valuable guide for further research.
 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageJason D. Phillips
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLaDonne Delgado
Contact Info:
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait