Official Indexes and Databases
The
icon indicates that you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.
-
Index to the Proceedings of the...
...Economic and Social Council (2000- ) ST/LIB/SER.B/E United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor ...General Assembly (1999-) ST/LIB/SER.B/A United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor ...Security Council (none yet) ST/LIB/SER.B/S United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor ...Trusteeship Council (none yet) ST/LIB/SER.B/T United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor - There are indexes to the "proceedings" of each of four principal organs. These are detailed indexes to the Official Records for each organ, including subject, speaker, and country/corporate name indexes. Most recent years of the GA and ECOSOC indexes also include voting tables.
-
Official Document System (ODS)
- The United Nations Official Document System is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full-text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations—Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. Documents are stored in two databases: UN documentation with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and UN Resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.
-
UNBISnet
http://unbisnet.un.org/ - Catalog of UN publications and documentation (including the Voting Records and Index to Speeches) indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office of Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 forward, however, indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included back to 1945. See also UNBIS Thesaurus.
-
UNdata
http://data.un.org - Since its foundation, the United Nations System has been collecting statistical information from Member States on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, transport and demographic and social statistics. The Division regularly publishes data updates, including the Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook, and books and reports on statistics and statistical methods. UNdata pools together major UN databases and those of several international organizations into a single internet environment.
- UN Documentation Centre
http://www.un.org/documents/ - Full-text, PDF files of recent major documents produced by the six principal organs of the UN, including resolutions of the General Assembly and the Security Council and Reports of the Secretary-General. Also includes a link to the UN Cartographic Section which comprises map and geographic information resources.
-
UN Publications Catalogue
http://www.un.org/Pubs/update/update.htm - Includes titles published by the United Nations. Entries refer to the English editions, but indications are also given as to the availability in Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian or Spanish. The catalogue also includes a selection of best-selling and important titles from prior years.
-
UN-I-QUE : United Nations Info Quest
http://lib-unique.un.org/lib/unique.nsf - UN-I-QUE is a ready-reference file created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library to respond to frequently asked questions, and is designed to provide quick access to document symbols/sales numbers for UN materials (1946 onwards). It focuses upon documents and publications of a recurrent nature. Information within each record is presented in reverse chronological order to facilitate identification of the most recent data.
-
United Nations Treaty Collection
- This Collection comprises the following eleven databases as well as technical assistance:
-
Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
ST/LEG/SER.E/ 2001 to present, United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor - This database contains the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General. Links to the full-texts are provided. For the texts of these agreements, refer to the United Nations Treaty Series.
- Summary of Practice of the Secretary-General as Depositary of Multilateral Treaties
- This on-line publication prepared by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs highlights the main features of the practice followed by the Secretary-General in the daily exercise of depositary functions. Contains models of instruments, depositary notifications, etc.
-
Treaty Handbook
ST/LEG(09)T84, United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
http://untreaty.un.org/English/TreatyHandbook/hbframeset.htm - This publication has been prepared by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs as a guide to the Secretary-General's practice as a depositary of multilateral treaties and the Secretariat's practice in relation to the registration and publication functions.
- Depositary Notification (CNs) by the Secretary-General
- The depositary is required to provide treaty related information to all interested parties on the treaties deposited with him. The Secretary-General, as depositary of multilateral treaties, provides this information by issuing depositary notifications.
- Notes Verbales from the Legal Counsel Relating to the Depositary Practice and the Registrations of Treaties Pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter
- To facilitate access by Member States, international organizations and other interested entities to notes verbales issued by the Legal Counsel on matters concerning the registration and publication of treaties and depositary requirements, the relevant notes are made available on-line.
- Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements
- This publication is issued monthly by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs pursuant to article 13 of the Regulations prior to their publication in the UNTS pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. It contains detailed record of treaties and related subsequent treaty actions which were registered or filed and recorded with the Secretariat on a given month.
- UN Treaty Series Cumulative Index
- In order to facilitate reference to the United Nations Treaty Series, the Secretariat publishes a Cumulative Index (in English and French). This continues the practice of the League of Nations, which published a similar index to its Treaty Series. A volume of the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index is issued for every fifty volumes of the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS).
- Photographs – Treaty Actions
- This collection consists of photographs taken at signature ceremonies relating to multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General.
- Titles in the UN Official Languages
- This collection consists of the titles of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
- United Nations Treaty Series(UNTS)
- A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. The UNTS includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate.
- Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties
- This collection consists of the texts of multilateral treaties recently deposited with the Secretary-General that have not yet been published in the United Nations Treaty Series.
-
Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
-
The next four printed indexes are listed chronologically superseding each previous title.
United Nations Documents Index (UNDI), 1950-1973. New York: United Nations. -
Ref. JX Z 6482.U45 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor Ref. JX Z 6482.K7 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor - First general index covering UN documents and publications other than restricted and internal material. The main parts include a checklist arranged by document series symbol and giving full bibliographic information and author-title-subject index. MSU’s holdings include some cumulative volumes.
- UNDEX: United Nations Document Index, 1974-1978. New York: United Nations.
-
Series A: Subject Index. Ref. JX Z 6481.U4 v.5 (1974) - v.9 (1978) Inactive Reference, FourthFloor Series B: Country Index. Ref. JX Z 6841.U42 v.5 (1974) - v.9 (1978) Inactive Reference, FourthFloor Series C: List of Documents Issued. Ref. JX Z 6841.U425 v.1 (1974) - v.5 (1978) Inactive Reference, FourthFloor - Second general index to UN masthead documents, sales publications and official records.
- UNDOC, 1979-1997. New York: United Nations.
-
Ref. JX Z 6481.U43 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor NHX JX Z 6481.U43 Microforms Collection, Second Floor - Provides access by subject, author, and title. Provides comprehensive bibliographic information for documents; a list of Official Records and sales publications; a list of documents republished in the Official Records; and a list of new document series symbols. (Issued quarterly in paper format and cumulated annually on fiche of which MSU has 1992-1994).
-
United Nations Documents Index, 1998--. New York: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Quarterly.
ST/LIN/SER.N/ 2000 to present, United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor - The United Nations Documents Index covers documents and publications issued by United Nations offices worldwide. The publication indexes a wide variety of documentation such as major reports and studies, resolutions and decisions, draft resolutions and meeting records, including documents of restricted distribution. The information in this publication is arranged in the following nine sections: documents and publications; official records; sales publications; United Nations maps included in UN documents; United Nations sheet maps; United Nations document series symbols; author index; title index and subject index.
Additional Indexes and Databases
You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes nearly 3,000 scholarly journals and provides full-text for over 1,700 journals. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. This database covers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues Covers over 500 sources published by more than 100 organizations around the world from 1992 to present. Full-text access to women's issues related to health and reproductive rights, development, human rights, and legal issues drawn from the alternative press, government reports, proceedings, and other sources.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Lexis-Nexis is the world's largest provider of credible, in-depth legal, government, business, and high-tech information. Access to full-text newspapers, periodicals, and wire service articles.
- Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides selected full-text coverage for more than 200 U.S. and international newspapers, newswires and other sources.
- PAIS International Web and print-based index to English and foreign language books, pamphlets, journal articles, and government publications in the area of public affairs and public policy.
- SocIndex with Full Text Database that provides comprehensive coverage of all sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, religion, social structure, and anthropology.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsContact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Subject Guide |
LaDonne DelgadoContact Info:
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait