Current Awareness
Newspapers and periodicals are excellent sources of information about the United Nations, its current developments and its activities in New York and abroad. The New York Times, the Times (London), Le Monde (Paris), and the Economist include significant coverage of the United Nations.
-
Annual Review of United Nations Affairs. Dobbs Ferry, NY : Oceana Publications, Inc. Annually.
JX 1977.A1 A5 1949, 1967 to present Circulating Collection, Third Floor - An expanded and detailed privately published accounting of the work of the United Nations. Although “solely official UN documentation is used in compiling this review.” The work of numerous bodies and sections within the UN and the specialized agencies is described in a detailed chronological listing which explains what actions were taken and gives the related documents text (many in full-text).
-
CyberSchoolBus
http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/ - The CyberSchoolBus is the United Nation’s global teaching and learning project. It contains a great deal of information about global trends, information about UN Member States, country and city profiles, statistics, photographs, and educational modules and activities. A recent addition is the UN Core Treaties page. This page provides "student-friendly versions" of "the world's most important agreements". Available in English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian and Chinese.
-
Daily Highlights: United Nations Brief Press Summaries, United Nations Department of Public Information, Central News Service.
http://www.un.org/News/ (1996 to present) - Daily press summary listing key events at UN Headquarters in New York with reference to key documents.
-
UN Pulse
http://unhq-appspub-01.un.org/lib/dhlrefweblog.nsf - UN Pulse, a blog highlighting slected UN online information, major reports, publications, and documents.
-
Global Policy Forum
http://www.globalpolicy.org/ - GPF monitors the global policy making process at the United Nations. It has addressed issues primarily in three areas: the UN Security Council and Council reform, the UN financial crisis, and social and economic policy at the global level.
-
Journal of the United Nations, New York, United Nations, 1996-
http://www.un.org/Docs/journal/En/lateste.pdf - The Journal is an often underutilized resource which serves two key purposes: (1) It informs individuals of meetings of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and other bodies scheduled to take place on a given day, as well as identifies the symbols of ajor documents to be considered at the meetings -- even when the documents may not yet have been officially released; and (2) It summarizes actions taken at the previous day's meetings and can be used by researchers who have a basic familiarity with the UN's document series symbol system to project symbols of meeting records and resolutions even before they are officially issued.
-
United Nations Chronicle
http://www.un.org/Pubs/chronicle/ -
ST/OPI(05)C3/2001 to present United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor v.1(1964) to v.37(2000) Bound Journals, First Floor - Quarterly magazine containing updates on the latest activities at the United Nations. Web site has only selected articles from recent issues. The Chronicle is also offered in full-text through Academic Search Premier.
-
United Nations Foundation
http://www.unfoundation.org/ - The United Nations Foundation seeks to support the goals and objectives of the United Nations and its Charter in order to promote a more peaceful, prosperous, and just world - with special emphasis on the UN's work, especially on behalf of economic, social, environmental and humanitarian causes.
-
UN News Center
http://www.un.org/News/ - Maintained by the United Nation’s Department of Public Information. Includes searchable press releases via three different options: the thirty latest press releases, search the latest thirty days of press releases, or search the press releases archive. Also includes full-text access to some of the UN’s web periodicals and documents about current world events.
-
UN Wire
http://www.unfoundation.org/unwire/ - Free service sponsored by the United Nations Foundation and Smart Brief, featuring daily summaries of key news stories from around the world. Has direct links to full-text, audio, video and additional sources of information on the Internet. Starts from January 1999.
- Yearbook of the United Nations. New York : United Nations Department of Public Information (co-published by Martinus Nijhoff since 1989). Annually.
-
Ref. JX 1977.A37 Y4 1946-1973 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor Ref. JX 1977.A37 Y4 v.28 (1974) to present Reference, Second Floor ST/DPI(05)Y3/ v.53 (1999) to present United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor - Annual authoritative publication on the activities of the organization during a particular year. Includes extensive surveys of the activities of the principal organs with reference to resolutions, decisions, and major reports. Includes full-text of the Secretary General's Report on the Activities of the Organization and key resolutions. Extensive subject index. Includes summaries of activities of the major IGOs. Excellent place to begin research if interested in a specific time period. Indexing is clear and comprehensible and document symbols are given to facilitate retrieval of actual documentation.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsContact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Subject Guide |
LaDonne DelgadoContact Info:
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait