Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United Nations Research Guide  Tags: united_nations political_science history economics statistics mathematics_statistics law_government_documents political_science_public_admin  

Last update: Sep 14th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/United_Nations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background Information and History             Print Page
  
 

Background Information and History

Baratta, Joseph Preston. United Nations System, International Organizations Series, volume 10. New Brunswick: Transaction Publishers, 1995.
Ref. JX 1977.B284 1995 Reference, Second Floor
An excellent, selective, annotated, critical bibliography of the United Nations. The lengthy annotations cover books, articles, pamphlets, directories, databases, and theses. Includes subject and author indexes.
Basic Facts about the United Nations. New York : United Nations Department of Public Information, 2000.
[ST]DPI/2155 United Nations Gov. Docs., Second Floor
http://www.un.org/aboutun/basicfacts/ for 2000 edition, only gives summaries of each section.
The book reflects the wide range of concerns and the multitude of ways in which the United Nations touches the lives of people everywhere. It details efforts of peacekeeping operations to end some of the world's most intractable conflicts; action to assist victims of disaster, protect human rights and advance international law; and the vast work the United Nations system carries out throughout the world to eradicate poverty and foster economic and social development.
Gorman, Robert F. Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Ref. KZ 4968.G67 2001 Reference, Second Floor
Perfect for promoting student debate and critical thinking, and ideal for use by Model UN clubs, this ready-reference guide provides information and critical examinations of the 50 most important issues debated in United Nations history. Entries are organized in chronological order based on their first appearance on the UN agenda. Each entry consists of four narrative sections: the significance of the issue; the historical, social and economic background of the issue; the history of the UN debate and intervention on the issue and the positions of various nations; and the outcome of each debate.
Hajnal, Peter I., ed. International Information: Documents, Publications, and Electronic Information of International Government Organizations, Second ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1997.
Ref. JZ 4850 .I58 1997 Reference, Second Floor
JZ 4850 .I58 1997 EB E-Resource
The most essential and up-to-date reference work on IGOs from the library and research perspective. This revised work examines the documentation, publications, and computerized information services of major IGOs, such as the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the League of Nations, the International Development Research Center, and the G-7. Special attention is given to the consequences of recent institutional restructuring and retrenchment.
Matsuura, Kumiko, Joachim W. Müller, and Karl P. Sauvant, eds. Chronology and Fact Book of the United Nations, Eighth ed. Dobbs Ferry, NY : Oceana Publications, Inc., 1992. (Ceased with Eighth edition)
Ref. JX 1977.H64 1992 Gov. Docs. Ready Ref., Second Floor
An irregular supplement to the Annual Review of United Nations Affairs, this publication is an especially useful checklist and includes a chronological survey of UN-related events, reproduces the UN Charter, rules of procedure for each organ, and membership tables for each of the UN bodies.
OsmaƄczyk, Edmund Jan. The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, Third ed. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Ref. KZ 4968 .084 2003, 4 vols., Microforms Reference, Second Floor
A unique compendium of political, economic and social information in one volume. It contains data on the structure of the UN, its specialized agencies, and the many intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations, international and regional, which cooperate with the United Nations.
Everyman’s United Nations: A Complete Handbook of the Activities and Evolution of the United Nations During its First Twenty Years, 1945-1965, Eighth ed. New York: United Nations, 1968.
Ref. JX 1977.A37E9 8th ed. 1968 Reference, Second Floor
This guide gives a detailed account of the activities and evolution of the United Nations during its first twenty years, 1945 through 1965. It covers political and security questions, economic and social questions, human rights questions, trust and non-self-governing territories questions, legal questions, and administrative and budgetary questions.
Everyone’s United Nations, 9th ed. New York: United Nations, 1979.
Ref. JX 1977.A37E9 9th ed. 1979 Reference, Second Floor
A compact reference book on the United Nations and its family of organizations. It describes the structure and activities of the United Nations and the 17 intergovernmental agencies related to it, concentrating on their work during the 12 years up to 1977-1978. If forms a companion volume to the eighth edition of Everyman’s United Nations.
A Guide to Information at the United Nations. New York: United Nations, 1995.
Ref. JX 1977.U42 1995 Reference, Second Floor
Guide to the activities and publications of each of the principal organizations and bodies within the United Nations system. Each organizational entry describes the following: mandates; major programs; recent expenditures; publications; and information contacts.
The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations.  New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. 
JZ4970 .O93 2007 Gov. Docs. Ready Ref., Second Floor
This volume examines the United Nations development since 1945 and the challenges it faces in the twenty-first century.  It includes citations and suggested readings, an extensive listing of primary and secondary references to the history, politics, and law of the world organization.
United Nations Handbook, 39th ed. Wellington, New Zealand: Ministry of External Relations and Trade. 2001.
Ref. JX 1977.2 .N5 U55 Gov. Docs. Ready Ref., Second Floor
An excellent source. A clearly ordered guide to the UN, covering the six principal organs, subsidiary bodies and associated bodies. Provides up-to-date information on the structure, aims and membership of UN bodies and is a useful reference tool for delegates, diplomats, foreign ministry officials, academics, media, other interested groups and members of the public. Published annually since 1961.
A Global Agenda: Issues before the....General Assembly of the United Nations: An annual publication of the United Nations Association of the United States of America. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
UNIX.13(05)C280/2000-2001 Circulating Stacks, Third Floor
UNIX.13(05)C280/2001-2002 Circulating Stadks, Third Floor
Designed to serve international affairs scholars and concerned citizens alike, each volume of this title offers a comprehensive overview of the many and disparate activities of the entire UN system over the course of a year, placing them in the context of ongoing events.  This series ceased publication in 2006.  

Continues: Issues Before the....General Assembly of the United Nations. Lexington, Mass. : Lexington Books. 
JX 1977 .A1 U5244a 42nd Circulating Stacks, Third Floor
JX 1977 .A1 U5244a 44th Circulating Stacks, Third Floor
United States Participation in the UN : A Report by the President to the Congress for the Year... Washington, DC : Government Printing Office. Annually.
S 1.49:7 1946 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
S 1.70/3: 1947-1957 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
S 1.70: 1959-1983 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
S 1.70/8: 1984 to present Gov. Docs., Second Floor
http://www.state.gov/www/issues/ioparticipation.html
Describes the participation of the United States in the UN.
 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageJason D. Phillips
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLaDonne Delgado
Contact Info:
Mitchell Memorial Library
395 Hardy Road
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Phone: 662-325-7660
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait