Internet Guides
The internet resources below are freely available on the Internet. While many of these resources address potential applicants to a particular agency or organization, the advice they offer is often applicable to most grant writing projects.
-
Art of Grantsmanship
http://www.hfsp.org/how/ArtOfGrants.htm - Developed by Dr. Jacob Kraicer, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. This site is a general online guide to writing grants and includes sections on the structure and content of most grants. A helpful guide to common errors is also included.
-
Art of Writing Proposals
http://fellowships.ssrc.org/art_of_writing_proposals/ - Developed by Adam Przeworski (Department of Political Science, New York University) and Frank Salomon (Department of Anthropology, University of Wisconsin) on behalf of the Social Sciences Research Council (SSRC). While the primary target is applicants to the SSRC competitions, the advice is useful for all potential grant writers.
-
Fundamentals of Grantsmanship
http://healthlinks.washington.edu/rfs/gw/fundamentals.html - Although a little dated, this web page provides a solid overview of the grants process. Developed by Janet S. Rasey, this source provides an overview of the grant application process and good advice for writing (and revising!) the grant application.
-
Guide to Proposal Planning and Writing
http://www.wm.edu/grants/PROP/miner.pdf - An abbreviated version of Jeremy and Lynn Miner's Proposal Planning and Writing, this pdf document offers advice on locating potential grants, communicating with grant agencies, and developing the grant application.
-
Grant Proposal Guide: National Science Foundation
http://www.nsf.gov/pubsys/ods/getpub.cfm?gpg#top - Developed by the National Science Foundation, this guide provides everything you need to know about writing and submitting a NSF grant proposal. The document is available in pdf or html format.
-
Hints for Writing successful NIH Grants
http://www2.uta.edu/sswgrants/Technical%20Assistance/hints_for_writing_successful_nih.htm - Developed by Ellen Bartlett of the University of Miami School of Medicine, this guide provides tips and strategies for writing a successful NIH grant application.
-
Proposal Writing Short Course
http://fdncenter.org/learn/shortcourse/prop1.html - This online tutorial, while focusing on nonprofit institutions and donor corporations, provides useful advice for any potential grant writer. Developed by the Foundation Center.
-
Grantmaking at ED
http://www.ed.gov/fund/grant/about/grantmaking/index.html - Developed by the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides fundamental information for anyone interested in pursuing grants for research or programs from the Department of Education. Includes a discussion of the type of grants offered by the department as well as an overview of the grant review process.
Grant Writing Resources
- Art of Grantsmanship Developed by Dr. Jacob Kraicer, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. This site is a general online guide to writing grants and includes sections on the structure and content of most grants. A helpful guide to common errors is also included.
- EPA Grant Writing Tutorial Hosted by Purdue University.
Subject Guide |
Dr. Deborah LeeOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Mississippi State University Libraries
(662) 325-0810
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics, Business, Agricultural Economics, Library Science, Research Methods
![]() |
Contact Info:
Mississippi State University Libraries
(662) 325-0810
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics, Business, Agricultural Economics, Library Science, Research Methods
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait