Glossary
The following brief glossary is provided to assist researchers in choosing the summary file on disc that best suits their needs. This information is taken from: http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/glossary.html.
-
Summary File 1 (SF 1)
This file presents 98% population and housing figures for the total population, for 63 race categories, and for many other race and Hispanic or Latino categories. This includes age, sex, households, household relationship, housing units, and tenure (whether the residence is owned or rented). Also included are selected characteristics for a limited number of race and Hispanic or Latino categories. The data are available for the U.S., regions, divisions, states, counties, county subdivisions, places, census tracts, block groups, blocks, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, tribal subdivisions, Hawaiian home lands, congressional districts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas. Data are available down to the block level for many tabulations, but only to the census-tract level for others. SF 1 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American Factfinder.
-
Summary File 2 (SF 2)
This file presents data similar to the information included in Summary File 1. These data are shown down to the census tract level for 250 race, Hispanic or Latino, and American Indian and Alaska Native tribe categories. For data to be shown in SF 2, a population category must meet a population size threshold of 100 or more people of that specific population category in a specific geographic area. SF 2 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American FactFinder.
-
Summary File 3 (SF 3)
This file presents data on the population and housing long form subjects such as income and education. It includes population totals for ancestry groups. It also includes selected characteristics for a limited number of race and Hispanic or Latino categories. The data are available for the U.S., regions, divisions, states, counties, county subdivisions, places, census tracts, block groups, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, tribal subdivisions, Hawaiian home lands, congressional districts, and Zip Code Tabulation Areas. SF 3 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American FactFinder.
2000 Census DVD-ROM Data Products
- Census 2000. Summary File 1: Census of Population and Housing . Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2001].
C 3.275:F 48/DVD Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
- [National File] Census 2000. Census of Population and Housing: National File. Summary File 1. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003
C 3.282:2000/NAT. Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
"The Census 2000 Summary File 1 data are released in three stages. Individual state files and two national files are released. The state-level data are released first, followed by the Advance National File, which covers the same data subjects, but includes national level summary data such as ZCTAs, whole metropolitan areas, whole American Indian areas, etc. The Final National File contains the same data subjects and geographic areas as the Advance National File, but adds the first available urban/rural and urbanized area data" (from http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/glossary.html). Discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation. Technical Documentation is also available at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2001/sumfile1.html .
- Census 2000 Summary File 2,Census of Population and Housing, 2000. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003.
C 3.282/2-3:2000/DVD Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and a link to FTP data downloading can be found at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2001/sumfile2.html. -
Provides census data for U.S. congressional districts. Summary tape file 1D provides complete population data by age, race, and sex and housing data by occupancy/vacancy status, tenure, units in structure, contract rent, meals included in rent, value, and number of rooms in housing unit. Summary tape file 3D contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census 2000. Census of Population and Housing: National File. Summary File 3. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003.
C 3.282/2:V 1 D00S 3 ST 08 NAT 1 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and a link to FTP data downloading is available at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2002/sumfile3.html. -
"Summary File 3 consists of 813 detailed tables of Census 2000 social, economic and housing characteristics compiled from a sample of approximately 19 million housing units (about 1 in 6 households) that received the Census 2000 long-form questionnaire. Fifty-one tables are repeated for nine major race and Hispanic or Latino groups: White alone; Black or African American alone; American Indian and Alaska Native alone; Asian alone; Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander alone; Some other race alone; Two or more races; Hispanic or Latino; and White alone, not Hispanic or Latino. Summary File 3 presents data for the United States, the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico in a hierarchical sequence down to the block group for many tabulations, but only to the census tract levels for others. Summaries are included for other geographic areas such as Zip Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs TM) and Congressional districts (106th Congress). Summary File 3 includes 484 population tables and 329 housing tables that are identified according to geographic coverage" (from the website). Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- TIGER/line: Redistricting Census 2000 on DVD. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economic and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, [2001].
C 3.279/3:2000 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and links for data downloading can be found at http://www.census.gov/geo/www/tiger/rd_2ktiger/tgr2kweb.html. -
"Files are a digital database of geographic features, such as roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, legal boundaries, and census statistical boundaries covering the entire United States" (from the disc case). Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
1990 Census CD-ROM Data Products
Users should note that the majority of 1990 census data products were programmed to run on MS-DOS and on dBase software. Users may need to perform appropriate conversions to more current software and data retrieval products suitable for "ISO 9660" or "IBM compatible" CD-ROMs.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Block Statistics. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1992-
C 3.282/3:CD 90-1 B Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing Public Law 94-171 Data. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1991.
C 3.281: Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Enacted in 1975, Public Law 94-171 requires the Census Bureau provide data needed by the states to redraw districts for both state legislatures and the U.S. Congress. This data is also known as "Redistricting Data." All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Public Use Microdata Samples. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993- .
C 3.285:CD 90-PUMS Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Contains records representing 5% or 1% samples of the housing units in the U.S. and the persons in them. Selected group quarters persons are also included. The file contains individual weights for each person and housing unit which, when applied to the individual records, expand the sample to the total population. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 1A. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1991- .
C 3.282:990/ Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Provides data for states and their sub-areas in hierarchical sequence down to the block group level. Summary Tape File 1A has inventory (complete) summaries for place, census tract/BNA, block group, congressional district (101st Congress), and consolidated cities. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 3A. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993.
C 3.282/2:CD 90-3 A- Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Provides census data for states and their sub-areas down to the block level, as well as inventory (complete) summaries for the following geographic areas: census tract/block numbering area (BNA), block group, place, and consolidated city. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 3B. Washington DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993- .
C 3.282/2:CD 90-3 B- Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census of Population and Housing (1990). Special Tabulation on Aging. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1994.
C 3.281/2:CD-90-AOA Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Contains aging-related population and housing data from the 1990 census, including sample data weighted to represent the total population, as well as 98% counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and housing units. Data is arranged hierarchically by state down to the census tract/block numbering level. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census of Population and Housing (1990). Subject Summary Tape File (SSTF). Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Administrative and Customer Services Division,1996.
C 3.286:CD 90 SSTF Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
Subject data at the state and metropolitan (MSA/PSA) level. Each disc covers a specific subject area. Subject areas include the following: mobility and journey to work; housing characteristics including condominiums and mobile homes; characteristics of the Black, Hispanic, Asian, and American Indian populations; occupation and education; the elderly; fertility; poverty; foreign born and ancestry; and characteristics of adults with work disabilities. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
Reference Librarian |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait