Statistical Compilations That Use Decennial Census Data
- County and City Data Book. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO. Published about every five years.
C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ 1947-present, noncirculating Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS29932 - Includes social and economic data for states, counties, cities, and census regions and divisions.
- Hobbs, Frank and Nicole Stoops. Demographic Trends in the 20th Century. U.S. Census Bureau Census 2000 Special Reports 4. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2002.
C 3.2:D 39/3 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor -
This report highlights the broad demographic trends of the 20th century. Consolidating information from the decennial censuses from 1900 to 2000, the report includes only those subject areas covered by the census on a 100 percent basis (data from those census questionnaires given to the entire population).
- Dodd, Donald B. Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of The Census, 1790-1990. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Ref. Ha214.D63 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor -
A compilation of state-level general population, agriculture and manufacturing data from 1790-1990. Also traces the population of the largest cities in 1990 form 1790-1990. Includes a glossary of terms and the Census Bureau's analysis of the compatibility of such a wide range of data. The book's purpose is to fill in the gap in historical statistics between Historical Statistics of The United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1975) and the county-level data compiled by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
- Forstall, Ruchard L., editor. Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990. Washington, DC: Springfield, Va.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Population Division; Reproduced by N.T.I.S., 1996.
C 3.2:P 81/26 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor -
"This publication provides the population of States and their counties according to the twenty-one U.S. decennial censuses conducted from 1790-1990 . . . Part I provides and introduction and explanation of the information contained in the report. Part II is a single table giving the populations of States, for the censuses taken since they were established as Territories or States . . . Part III consists of tables for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia, with populations for counties or equivalent areas at each census . . . Following the population tables, Part IV gives for each State the date of the first census for each county, the date of the census since which the county has not had any significant alterations in boundaries, and the Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the county." -- introduction
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970, Bicentennial Edition. Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1975.
Ready Ref. HA202.A385 1975 Pts. 1 and 2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
See also the same work distributed by Kraus International, 1989.
Ref HA 202.H57 1989 Pts. 1 and 2 Reference, 2nd Floor -
A core reference work for U.S. historical statistics, these two volumes present statistics from 1610-1970 covering a wide variety of topics including population, vital statistics, labor, income, housing, etc.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Washington, D.C.: GPO. Published about every five years.
Ref. HA202.U5724 Reference, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb/ -
As a supplement to the Statistical Abstract (see below), this publication includes social and economic data at the state and metropolitan area levels, including metropolitan counties.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO. Annual.
C 3.134: print, 1890 - present, noncirculating Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.134/7: CD-ROM, 1993-2001 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878 , 1995-present -
Statistical Abstract is an excellent starting point when looking for any U.S. statistic, current or historical. Most of the data presented is at the national level, though some tables do include state level data. Data include tables on population, education, employment, income, housing, and other subjects covering the wide range of government agencies. Each table cites the source of the data to enable users to locate the entire source survey or publication for further research. Older volumes provide a detailed resource for historical statistics, including historical census statistics in the population data sections. Users should note that the date on the cover of each volume is the year in which that volume is published, and so that volume will only include data through the previous year. For example, to find data for the year 2001, users should browse volumes dated/published in 2002 or later.
-
CD-ROM: Contains all content available in the print version plus some additional content such as extra tables or maps. The discs are designed for ease of use. While software specifics change over time, users should have Adobe Acrobat for viewing PDF files and Excel or Lotus for downloading data in spreadsheet format.
- USA Counties. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1992- . Published biannually.
C 3.134/6: (1992-1998, CD-ROM) Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor -
"A database that features time-series information presented at the county level with state and U.S. totals. The database is available only on compact disc [the 1998 database is available online - see below]. The disc is designed to serve as a convenient easy-to-use- reference source, containing over 5000 data items from 9 different federal and private organizations" -- from 1998 disc liner notes. Features vary with each release. The 1998 disc contains mapping software. Information about the various CD-ROM releases may be found online at the Census Bureau web site, including lists of subjects covered:
1998: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS22642 and
http://www.census.gov/statab/USA98/contents.html
1994: http://www.census.gov/apsd/prodprof/pp14.pdf
1992: http://www.census.gov/epcd/extract/bin/usa_read.txt
Map Compilations
- Martis, Kenneth C and Gregory A. Elmes. The Historical Atlas of State Power in Congress, 1790-1990. Washington D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1993.
Ref. G1201.F7 M3 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor -
Presents maps of apportionment changes in the U.S. House of Representatives for all states and regions from 1790-1990 as determined by the decennial census. The book also features tabular representations of apportionment data.
- Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity. Census 2000 Special Reports, CENSR/01-1. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO, 2001.
C 3.2:M 32 (print) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.2:M 32/2002 CD (CD-ROM) Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/atlas.html -
Map depictions of changes in race comparing 1990 and 2000 census data, taking into account race/ethnicity reporting on the 2000 Census (the first census in which participants could indicate more than one race). Maps are at the county level with smaller state level maps on each page. The CD-ROM (mini CD) version contains the same content as the print document.
- Mattson, Mark T. Atlas of the 1990 Census. New York: Macmillan, 1992.
Ref. G 1201.E2 M3 1992 Reference, 2nd Floor -
Provides a graphic representation of data from the 100-percent questions (short-form questions asked of everyone, SF-1A) of the 1990 Census. Includes data on population, households, housing, race and ethnicity, economics and education.
- Portfolio of United States Census Maps, 1950. Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1953.
Ref. G1201.E2 U45 1953 Reference, 2nd Floor -
Depicts various population characteristics and agricultural data from the 1950 Census at the national level. Population data includes change in population, centers of population and median income. Also includes agricultural data.
Reference Librarian |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait