Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United States Decennial Censuses General Research Guide  Tags: census decennial_census us_census united_states_census statistics government_documents population housing census_of_population census_of_housing census_of_population_and_housing demographics mathematics_statistics law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/census  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Decennial Census on The World Wide Web             Print Page
  
 

Tab Contents

2000 Census

1990 Census

Pre-1990 Censuses

 
 

2000

Census 2000 Gateway
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS31412
The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to its 2000 decennial census web resources. Includes the American Factfinder database of 2000 census data and includes links to data from all four Summary Files. Highlights of the gateway include State & County QuickFacts, a database of summaries of the most requested data for states and counties; a database for retrieving Census 2000 data by entering a street address; Census 2000 Briefs and Special Reports which provide informative statistics on particular subjects and demographic groups; and Census 2000 volumes in PDF format, which is currently comprised of the Geographic Area Series for the Census of Population and Housing (PHC).
United States Census 2000: PUBLICATIONS LIBRARY: Census 2000
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS24037
Direct link to the Census Bureau's online library of Census 2000 volumes in PDF format, which mirrors those volumes currently available in print format. Currently, only the Census of Population and Housing (PHC) Geographic Area Series are available.

Back to Top

 

1990

CENSUS '90
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen1990.html
The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to its 1990 decennial census web resources. Includes the American Factfinder database of 1990 census data, which is primarily made up of Summary File 1 (98%) and Summary File 3 (sample data) data. Drop-down menus include bulletins of small data sets from the 1990 census and the "We the Americans" reports on various demographic groups. Other major areas of the web site include links to 1990 census data on congressional apportionment, resources for selected topics from the 1990 census and PDF files of previously published 1990 census volumes (all of the CP, CH and CPH series).
CENSUS '90: PUBLICATIONS LIBRARY: 1990 Decennial Census
http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/90pubs/decenial.html
Direct link to the Census Bureau's online library of 1990 census volumes in PDF format. Previously published in print, these volumes cover the majority of data released for the three decennial censuses (Census of Population, Census of Housing and Census of Population and Housing), including the Geographic Area Series for the fifty states and U.S. territories. The site includes all reports, including subject reports, for the CP, CH and CPH series. An excellent resource for finding census statistics at the national, state, county, and city levels. The following Census Bureau web page also provides access to 1990 census volumes in PDF format: http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decenial.html

Back to Top

 

Pre-1990

Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/
Compiled by the University of Virginia Library Geostat Center, this web site provides access to data from the 1790 through 1960 decennial censuses. "The original source of each decade's data is the decennial census conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The electronic data collection presented here was compiled by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). The available data differ somewhat from decade to decade, according to what was collected in the census and the items chosen for transcription to electronic form. For the early decades, most of the enumerated items are included. For later decades, only a portion of characteristics have been transcribed. No information is available below the county level, and only states are included (no information on western territories before statehood, or for the District of Columbia). In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. This site allows users to browse the data files for each decade and choose from the lists of variables. Users can produce lists of data by state or county that can be sorted, calculate proportions, or graph any of the variables. The site is not intended as a tool for downloading data for further research or more involved manipulation." --the web site. Includes links to methodology and the codebook for the data sets.
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html
Presents various sets of decennial census data from as early as 1790. The content of each data set varies with some sets comprised of national level data only while others present data at the county and place level. The majority of the data sets allow for comparisons across varying ranges of decades. Most documents are in PDF format.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/past_years.html
Population tables contain comparative population data at the national level for varying ranges of decades, with some tables going back to the 1800's and even back to 1790. Users should choose a particular year to browse then select Section I Population.

Back to Top

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait