Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United States Decennial Censuses General Research Guide  Tags: census decennial_census us_census united_states_census statistics government_documents population housing census_of_population census_of_housing census_of_population_and_housing demographics mathematics_statistics law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/census  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Guides to Individual Decennial Censuses             Print Page
  
 

Tab Contents

General Guides
2000 Census
1990 Census
1980 Census
1970 Census
1960 Census
1950 Census
1940 Census
Pre-1940 Censuses

 
 

General Guides

Bohme, Frederick G. 200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790-1990. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1989.
C 3.2:T 93 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Presents facsimiles of blank schedules and questionnaires used for households for each decennial census. Its introductory chapter features a brief history of the census as well as U.S. maps for each census from 1790-1900 showing the expansion of census geography.
Factfinder for the Nation. Washington: Bureau of the Census, 1976- .
C 3.252: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor: MSU Libraries has scattered holdings for the 1990s.
ASI (year) 2326-7 Microforms: ASI has 1976 to 2001.
Continuing series of pamphlets providing an overview of coverage, availability, and suggested uses of data collected by the Census Bureau in its censuses of population and housing, the economic censuses, and ongoing surveys. Each pamphlet focuses on a single topic, with subject overview, methodology, data coverage and classification, list of census and survey reports, and data availability; and overview of data use assistance available from the Census Bureau and State data centers.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:M 46/2 (revised version) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS19359 (original version)
http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/pol02marv-pt1.pdf (revised version)
Facsimiles of decennial census questionnaires with instructions for enumerators for older censuses (prior to mass mailings). Includes brief histories of the individual censuses.

Helpful information can also be found in the introductory material and detailed list of tables at the beginning of each census volume as well as in appendices or appendices volumes accompanying the various sets of census reports.

Back to Top

 

2000

Census 2000 Basics . Washington, D.C, Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:B 29/2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/mso/www/c2000basics/00Basics.pdf
Provides a general introduction to Census 2000 including a listing of 98% and sample characteristics, a glossary of geographic areas and a list of data products.
Selected Appendices: 2000, Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2003.
C 3.223/23-3:2000 PHC-2-A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
In prior decennial censuses, these subject appendices (Appendices A-H) were included with the statistical tables. For Census 2000, they are compiled into this single volume. The appendices cover the following areas: geographic terms and concepts, definitions of subject characteristics, data collection and processing procedures, questionnaires, list of data products. The following appendices are still included with the statistical tables, and researchers should consult those reports: maps and information on accuracy and confidentiality (Appendices F and G).

Back to Top

 

1990

1990 Census of Population and Housing. 1990 Census Questionnaires and Other Public-Use Forms. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1993.
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-5 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"This report provides facsimiles of the questionnaires and other 'public use' forms used for the 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Along with the facsimiles is a brief description of the use of the form in the census and production information such as number of forms printed and schedule dates . . . All of the stateside public-use forms are illustrated in this report." -- introduction
1990 Census of Population and Housing. Guide. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: G.P.O., [1992- .]
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R 1 A/GUIDE Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R 1 B/GUIDE Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part A. Text provides information on procedures, geography and data products. This volume also covers questions asked and includes facsimiles of the 1990 Long-Form questionnaire. Part B. Glossary "is divided into four sections containing definitions and explanations of geographic area classifications, population characteristics, housing characteristics, and other technical terms associated with the census and its data products." - introduction. Also includes facsimiles of the Long-Form questionnaire.
1990 Census of Population and Housing. History. [Washington, DC] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: GPO, [1993- .]
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 C Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 D Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"This report describes in detail most aspects of the 1990 census, from its early stages of research and planning through the tabulation, publication, and dissemination of the final results . . . this report discusses, where appropriate, some of the forces--litigation, legislation, perceived user needs, public perception, budgetary constraints, and the like--that shaped the 1990 census and its outcome." - preface Parts A, C and D contain facsimiles of questionnaires.
A Guide to State and Local Census Geography. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1993
C 3.6/2:G 29/3 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ref. HA201 1990 .A355X 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor
"'Census geography' refers to all the geographic entities used by the Census Bureau in its data collection and tabulation operations, including their designations, definitions, purpose, and relationships to one another . . . Some of these geographic entities are legally defined, while others are established specifically for statistical purposes . . . The individual State texts describe how these entities relate to each state. The level of information provided for area varies by profile and reports specific idiosyncrasies that exist for a State." -- introduction
Lavin, Michael R. Understanding the Census: A Guide for Marketers, Planners, Grant Writers and Other Data Users. Kenmore: Epoch Books, 1996
Ref. HA 201 1990ar Reference, 2nd Floor
"The purpose of this book is threefold: to explain Census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in an understandable manner; to assist Census users in locating needed Census data; and to impress upon readers how easy it is to use inappropriate figures, or to interpret appropriate numbers incorrectly . . . [the book] assumes no prior knowledge on the part of its readers . . . this is a guide to the 1990 Census . . ." - preface. Includes a bibliography of resources for further reading.
Lavin, Michael R., Jane Weintrop, Cynthia Cornelius. Subject Index to the 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Kenmore: Epoch Books, 1997.
Ready Ref. HA201 1990.F3x 1997 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
A detailed subject guide to the major print series and CD ROM publications of the 1990 U.S. Census. The composite subject index to the table finding guides of the print volumes covers the following series: CP 1 thru 3, CH 1 thru 4, CPH 1 thru 6, and the supplementary reports (CP-S, CH-S, CPH-S) of all three series. The CD ROM subject index covers STF 1, 98% data from the Short-Form, and STF 3, sample data from the Long-Form. Includes the "Glossary of Commonly Misunderstood Census Terms."

Back to Top

 

1980

1980 Census of Population and Housing: History. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1986- .
Part A: ASI 1986 2555-2.1 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part B: ASI 1987 2555-2.2 Microforms, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R-2B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part C: ASI 1987 2555-2.3 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part D: ASI 1989 2555-2.4 Microforms, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R-2D Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part E: ASI 1989 2555-2.5 Microforms, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R-2E Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"This report describes in detail most aspects of the 1980 census, from its early stages of research and planning through the tabulation, publication, and dissemination of the final results." - preface. Parts B and E contain facsimiles of promotional materials and of blank schedules and questionnaires.
Allard, Patsy Bailey. Making Sense of Census '80: A Marketer's Guide. New York: AMA Membership Publications Division, American Management Associations, 1983.
HA 201 1980M Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
This brief book covers how to use demographic data from the 1980 decennial census for marketing analysis. Its most useful feature is its appendix of subject lists for all Summary Tape Files.
Kaplan, Charles P. and Thomas L. Van Valey. Census '80: Continuing the Factfinder Tradition. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census GPO,1980.
HA 210 1980 K36 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
Published on the eve of the 1980 decennial census, Parts I and II of this guide provide a general overview of the decennial census and current methodology and concepts. The authors note how these methods and concepts will be used in the 1980 census. Part III focuses on the 1980 census itself covering planning, data collection and tabulation, and the products and services that will be available for the 1980 census. Part IV discusses uses for census data, especially in relation to data that will be available from the 1980 census. Changes in the data collected in the 1980 census (as opposed to earlier decennial censuses) are noted in the text. Chapters on data usage include the following areas: urban and rural planning, business, geography, and social demography. Appendices include a guide to reading statistical tables as they appear in printed volumes of 1980 census data and facsimiles of the 1980 census questionnaires (short and long forms). Appendix A will be useful to researchers who wish to compare census data over decades. The appendix features checklists tracking population and housing items counted in each decennial census back to 1790.
User's Guide: 1980 Census of Population and Housing . [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: G.P.O., 1982-1983.
C 3.223/22:80-R1-A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R1-B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R1-C Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part A. Text provides information on procedures, geography, data products and data limitations. This volume also covers questions asked and includes facsimiles of the 1980 Long-Form questionnaire. Part B. Glossary "provides a comprehensive, cross-referenced listing of the definitions of population, housing, geography, and technical terms associated with the 1980 Census of Population and Housing." - introduction. Also includes facsimiles of the Long-Form questionnaire. Part C Index to Summary Tape Files 1 to 4 "shows you what data are available from the 1980 census in four series of computer tapes -- these files present data for States, SMSA's, counties, places, census tracts, and other small areas." - introduction.

Back to Top

 

1970

1970 Census User's Guide. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1970.
Part I: ASI 1973 2308-8 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part 2: C 3.6/2:C 33/2/970-2/PT.2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1973 2308-9 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Guide to data collection procedures, and uses and content of data. Topics include 1970 census products and services, user education tools, data delivery facilities, dimensions and uses of census data, concept definitions for geographic areas, population and housing characteristics, comparative information on printed reports and summary tapes. Includes a glossary of technical terms and abbreviations.
Langham, Charles G. and Carol F. Donnelly. 1970 Census of Population and Housing: Data-Collection Forms and Procedures.Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1971.
C 3.223:F76/970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"The principal enumeration forms used in the 1970 Census of Population and Housing are presented here, together with a brief description of the census field procedures. Only data-collection forms and procedures used in the main census enumeration are included in this report." -- preface
Reference Manual on Population and Housing Statistics from the Census Bureau. Washington, D.C., The Bureau: GPO, 1977.
Ref. HA37.U55 Z44 Reference, 2nd Floor
"This Reference Manual is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to 'demographic' data from the Census Bureau, or more specifically, data about the population of the U.S. and their housing. The purpose of this manual is to provide an appropriate and up-to-date starting point for the new or prospective user, and a handy reference for the experienced data user. It presents those facts or principles most relevant to understanding the 1970 census and related data from current programs, being able to find desired data, and appreciating the definitions and limitations of those data." --preface

Back to Top

 

1960

Censuses of Population and Housing, 1960: Procedural History. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1966.
Ref.HA201 1960 .A55 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
"This is a comprehensive procedural report on the methodology of the 1960 Censuses of Population and Housing of the United States. It covers procedures from the early stages of planning and pre-testing through the tabulation and publication of final reports." --preface
United States Censuses of Population and Housing, 1960: Principal Data-Collection Forms and Procedures. Washington, D.C.: GPO.
C 3.223:F 76 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"The principal enumeration forms used in the 1960 Censuses of Population and Housing are presented here together with a brief description of the census field procedures. Only data-collection forms and procedures used in the 50 states and the District of Columbia are included in this report." --preface.

Back to Top

 

1950

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
C 3.2:M 46/2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
"A reference guide for this decennial census is not available. Researchers should consult the introductions and appendices of the population and housing reports for this census.

Back to Top

 

1940

Jenkins, Robert M. Procedural History of the 1940 Census of Population and Housing. Madison: U. of Wisconsin P., 1985.
HA 201 1940 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
"Illuminates the census data by explaining the design of the questionnaire, the rationale of the questions asked, and the procedures for administering the census. The result is an essential companion piece to the 1940 census and a practical research tool for demographers, historians, economists, political scientists, and statisticians." -- front matter

Back to Top

 

Pre-1940

Procedural guides for individual decennial censuses were not produced prior to 1940. The following works may be helpful in using pre-1940 census volumes:

Bohme, Frederick G. 200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790-1990. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1989.
C 3.2:T 93 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Presents facsimiles of blank schedules and questionnaires used for households for each decennial census. Its introductory chapter features a brief history of the census as well as U.S. maps for each census from 1790-1900 showing the expansion of census geography.
Lunt, Edward Clark. Key to the Publications of the United States Census, 1790-1887. New York: Arno Press, 1976.
Ref. HA Z 7165.U5 L85 1976 Reference, 2nd Floor
Provides a bibliography of decennial census volumes through the 1880 census. Also includes an index of general subject areas with detailed lists of tables from the census volumes. A very useful volume for subject access to statistics in the early U.S. census.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:M 46/2 (revised version) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS19359 (original version)
http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/pol02marv-pt1.pdf (revised version)
Facsimiles of decennial census questionnaires with instructions for enumerators for older censuses (prior to mass mailings). Includes brief histories of the individual censuses.
Shulz, Suzanne. Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes. Pheonix: Oryx Press, 1983.
Ref. HA Z 7164.D3 S44 1983 Reference, 2nd Floor
Contains a summary of subjects of census inquiries from 1790 thru 1890. Also lists states and territories as they appear in the 1790 thru 1890 censuses and lists Serial Set volumes which include census data.
Thorndale, William and William Dollarhide. Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920. Baltimore, Genealogical Publishing, 1987.
Ref. G 1201.F7 T5 1987 Reference, 2nd Floor
Shows county outline maps at ten-year intervals with old county boundaries superimposed over modern boundary lines. The guide also contains background information on the censuses.
Topical Index of Population Census Reports, 1900-1930. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1934.
Ref. HA201 1930 .Z2 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Topical index of volumes of the regular census reports on population from 1900 thru 1930. Coverage includes data at the national, state, metropolitan area and county levels.

Back to Top

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait