Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United States Decennial Censuses General Research Guide  Tags: census decennial_census us_census united_states_census statistics government_documents population housing census_of_population census_of_housing census_of_population_and_housing demographics mathematics_statistics law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/census  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Guides to the Decennial Census             Print Page
  
 

Tab Contents

Terms and Concepts

Current Issues

Histories and General Overviews of the Census

Bibliographies and Catalogs

 
 

Terms and Concepts

Anderson, Margo J., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2000.
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Reference, 2nd Floor
Contains a glossary of terms as part of its appendices (pages 406-410). In addition, various articles in the encyclopedia discuss prominent terms and concepts at length. A detailed index provides listings of terms and concepts discussed as part of or within larger articles. Presents facsimiles of questionnaires from the 2000 census in the section titled "Census 2000 Questionnaires: Short and Long Forms," pages 389-399, including three representative pages from the short form and all pages of the informational copy of the long form.
Glossary
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/en/epss/glossary_a.html
A glossary of terms used in and related to census products. Features an alphabetical index for quick retrieval. Includes links to related terms where relevant
U.S. Census Bureau Subjects Index
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS677
Informative web pages for many concepts can be found in the Subject Index to the Census Bureau web site, and these web pages go beyond simple definitions to provide links to related information or data. For example, searching under M for Metropolitan Statistics Areas brings up a web page with a definition plus links to lists of MS's and maps of MSA's.

Brief glossaries of terms can be found in the appendices of all census reports.

See also Guides to Individual Decennial Censuses.

Back to Top

 

Current Issues

Anderson, Margo J. and Stephen E. Fienberg. Who Counts? The Politics of Census-Taking in Contemporary America. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1999.
HA 179.A53 1999 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
Gives a history of issues involving the undercount (numbers and percentages of populations left out of a census count due to various factors). Various methodologies for correcting the undercount are discussed, with a focus on the 1990 Census and the upcoming 2000 Census.
Perlmann, Joel and Mary C. Waters, eds. The New Race Question: How the Census Counts Multiracial Individuals. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 2002.
E 184.A1 M568 2002 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
Essays in this volume provide an overview of the political, legal and social issues surrounding and resulting from the 2000 Census multiracial count.

Back to Top

 

Histories and General Overviews of the Census

Anderson, Margo J. The American Census: A Social History. New Have: Yale UP, 1988
HA 37.U55 A53 1988 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
Anderson's social history explores the influence the decennial census has had on U.S. politics and policymaking as well as the conflicts arising from potential influences from special interest groups outside the Census Bureau. Useful for an overview of issues surrounding previous decennial censuses through the 1980 census. Includes an Appendix listing census cost and population data and apportionment from 1790-1980.
Anderson, Margo J., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2000.
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Reference, 2nd Floor
A core reference work covering both the decennial U.S. census and the various five-year censuses, the one-volume encyclopedia includes articles on concepts, politics, history, methods, public policy, controversies and sensitive issues. Each article is accompanied by a bibliography. An excellent resource for both introductory and more in-depth information.
Decennial Census: Overview of Historical Census Issues. Washington, D.C.: General Accounting Office: GPO, 1998.
GA 1.13:GGD-98-103 Gov Docs Microfiche, 2nd Floor
ASI 99 26119-710 Microforms, 2nd Floor
http://www.gao.gov/archive/1998/gg98103.pdf
"The purpose of this report is to furnish context, background, and a historical perspective for Members of Congress, their staffs, and others interested in the debate on policy and operational questions related to the 2000 Census. It is organized by general decennial census concepts and discusses critical issues that emerged during decennial censuses as far back as the first one on 1790." --preface
Eckler, A. Ross. The Bureau of the Census. New York: Praeger, 1972.
HA37.U55 E25 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
This general history by a former Director of the Bureau focuses on the Bureau's place as part of the total federal statistical system. Chapters cover history of research and development; bureau administration and organization; and the bureau's relations with congress, the public, and the international community.
The Story of the Census. 1790-1915. Washington, D.C., GPO, 1915.
HA 37.U4 1915 Circulating Collection, 2nd Floor
A brief early history of the decennial census, this book's best feature is the clear indication in the margins noting when particular statistics were first tabulated in the first thirteen decennial censuses. Includes photos of early tabulating machines.
Uncle Sam: How He Grew. 150 Years of American History as Recorded in the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C., GPO, 1943.
HA37 .U2 1943D Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
An interesting publicity piece published in 1943, this brief monograph depicts how the U.S. census shows trends for the first 150 years of U.S. history, including trends in population, farming, and manufacturing. The first chapter describes how the census helped the U.S. government during World War II.

Back to Top

 

Bibliographies and Catalogs

Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972.Washington: U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Social and Economic Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, GPO, 1974.
Ref. HA Z1223 .C39CAT 1790-1972 Reference, 2nd Floor
1945 and the catalog of publications 1946-1972. The first catalog is comprised of two parts. Part I covers decennial census publications; Part II covers the non-decennial censuses of agriculture, business, government, industry and religious bodies. The second catalog is organized by general topic and lists not only the various decennial and non-decennial censuses but also the more important intercensal surveys, such as Current Population Reports. A core bibliography for historical census research.
Census and You. Washington, D.C.: The Bureau, G.P.O., 1988- . (published monthly)
C 3.238: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI (year) 2302-3, ASI has 1988-present. Microforms, 2nd Floor

http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1679
"The Census Bureau's monthly newsletter with articles summarizing newly issued findings reports and data files. It also discusses new software, data collection efforts being planned, and sources of assistance for data users. The principal emphasis is on demographic, social, housing, and economic data for states and smaller areas. It also publishes key economic indicators (such as housing stats, retail sales, and the Consumer Price Index)." (from the website) Beginning in 1988, this periodical is useful for tracking publications for the 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses.

This publication is preceded by:
Data User News. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975-1988. (published monthly)
ASI (year) 2302-3, ASI has 1975-1987. Microforms, 2nd Floor
Supplement to Data User News: ASI (year) 2302-3. Microforms, 2nd Floor
This periodical is useful for tracking later publications for the 1970 decennial census and publications for the 1980 decennial census.
Census Catalog and Guide. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, GPO, 1985- . (published annually)
Ready Ref. C 3.163/3: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ref. HA Z7554.U5 U32 Reference, 2nd Floor

http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS3138
"Describes data products issued by the Census Bureau. This report also describes programs and services. In addition, it provides abstracts of the publications, maps, CD-ROMs, computer tapes, diskettes, and items online. The abstracts include the data time, the geographic scope, and the subject content, along with ordering information. The report also provides guide features, such as a telephone contact list for data specialists at the Census Bureau, the State Data Centers, and other data processing service centers, as well as a list of Federal and census depository libraries. Other guide features include an overview, detailed subject and title indexes, descriptions of key Federal reports, and special charts--for example, a guide to topics from the Current Population Survey data files." (from the website) This publication existed from 1985 through 1998 and as such serves best as a source for information on publications related to the 1990 decennial census and later publications relating to the 1980 decennial census.

This publication is preceded by:
Bureau of the Census Catalog. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, G.P.O., [1964?-1984].
Ref. HA Z7554.U5 U32 Reference, 2nd Floor
MSU Libraries has scattered holdings for the 1970s and 1980s, making this periodical useful for information on later publications related to the 1970 decennial census and publications related to the 1980 decennial census.
Census Product Update: Current and Future Data Releases from the U.S. Census Bureau.
http://www.census.gov/mp/www/cpu/
A biweekly newsletter from the Census Bureau with timely information on recently released and key upcoming data products. Includes an archive of 3.5 years of past issues.

This publication is preceded by:
Monthly Product Announcement. Washington, D.C.: The Bureau, 1981-
C 3.163/7: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1680
The website has archives for 1997-2000.
Lunt, Edward Clark. Key to the Publications of the United States Census, 1790-1887. New York: Arno Press, 1976.
Ref. HA Z 7165.U5 L85 1976 Reference, 2nd Floor
Provides a bibliography of decennial census volumes through the 1880 census. Also includes an index of general subject areas with detailed lists of tables from the census volumes. A very useful volume for subject access to statistics in the early U.S. census.

Back to Top

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait