Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Iraq Conflict Research Guide  Tags: iraq iraq_war political_science_public_admin law_government_documents 9/11  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=15644  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Country Information             Print Page
  
 

Print Resources

Europa World Year Book. London : Europa Publications, Annual.
Ref JN1 .E85 Reference, 2nd Floor
Entries provide basic demographic, economic, and political information on countries. The Iraq entry includes a lengthy history of UN resolutions and international sanctions.

Middle East: Opposing Viewpoints. San Diego, CA : Greenhaven Press, 2001.
Ref DS 63.1 .M5426 2000 [Undergraduate Research Center] Reference, 2nd Floor
This book provides an overview of the causes of conflict in the Middle East. Includes a section of essays on the use of UN sanctions against Iraq.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref DS35.53 .O95 2001 Volumes 1-4 Reference, 2nd Floor
A four volume set with thematic and country entries, this encyclopedia contains short, signed encyclopedic descriptions. Most entries have an accompanying bibliography.

Back to Top

 
 

Internet Resources

CIA World Factbook: Iraq
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/iz.html
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency and updated every two weeks, this online resource provides brief entries for Iraq on its people, geography, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Background Notes: Iraq
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/6804.htm
From the US Department of State, the Background Notes series provides a brief overview of countries including: facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations. The sereis is upaded as infromation is received from regional bureaus.
Iraq Maps
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/iraq.html
The Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas, Austin offers a meta-site of links to various Iraqi maps, available in either pdf or html file formats. Maps include: political maps, shaded relief, topographic maps of some cities, detailed maps, thematic maps, and historical maps.
Amnesty International Report: Human Rights in Iraq
http://thereport.amnesty.org/eng/regions/middle-east-and-north-africa/iraq
Amnesty International publishes an annual report on the state of human rights in Iraq. For earlier documents, search the AI Library catalog: http://www.amnesty.org/en/library.
Iraq: A Country Study
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/iqtoc.html
The Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress provides online access to this data collected and written in 1988. The country profile was last updated in August 2006.

Back to Top

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait