Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Guide  Tags: film_studies architecture_art_design history  

Print and electronic resources that provide criticism and plot and production information.
Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=15628  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Guides, Reviews             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Guides, Reviews

The Film Encyclopedia. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1994.
Ref PN1993.45.K34 1994
A comprehensive collection of information on all aspects of film.
Film it with Music: an Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Ref PN1993.5.U6F5
A comprehensive reference guide to movie musicals.
Film Noir: an Encyclopedic Reference to the American Style. Woodstock, N.Y.: Overlook Press, 1979.
Ref PN1993.5.U6F5
A comprehensive reference guide of the American film noir genre.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Ref PN1993.45 .C75 2001
A critical dictionary of theories of film and television, including definitions of film and television terms.
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
Ref PN1993.5.U6S539 1998
Dictionary of historical aspects of American film industry.
World Film Directors. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1987-1988.
Ref E169.1.E626 2001
This two-volume dictionary covers world film directors from 1890-1985.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1984-.
Ref PN2205 .C6
Provides biographies of contemporary practitioners in the theatre, film, and television. It was previously titled Who's Who in the Theatre.
The Film Studies Dictionary. London: Arnold; New York: Co-published in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PN1993.45 .B53 2001
A dictionary of film studies and research in all aspects of film theory, practice, and production.
Science Fiction, Horror & Fantasy Film and Television Credits. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1983.
REF PN1995.9.S26L46.
This two-volume work covers over over 10,000 actors, actresses, directors who worked in films and television programs in the science fiction, horror and fantasy genres.
The New York Times Film Reviews. New York: New York Times.
Ref PN1995.N4
Reviews of current films published in the New York Times.
The New York Times Guide to the Best 1000 Movies. New York: Times Books, 1999.
Ref PN1995.C343
Reviews of the 1000 movies judged to be the "best" by the New York Times.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDavid Nolen
Contact Info:
325-7682
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait