Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

European History: Renaissance to Modern Day Research Guide  Tags: european_history history music  

An overview of print and electronic resources that will help you get started on your research.
Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=15627  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Information             Print Page
  

Biographical Databases

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access these electronic resources.

  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index  
    This database is the authoritative source for locating biographical information. It lists citations to various reference materials containing biographical data.
  • Biographies Plus Illustrated (Wilson)  
    Pulling together biographical information from a variety of quality reference sources, this database provides easy access to information about historical figures and current people of interest.
 

Biographical Information in Print

Dictionary of National Biography. London: Oxford University Press, 1921.
Ref CT783 .D53
This multi-volume set includes biographical information about important deceased British citizens.
Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998-2002.
Ref CT103 .E56 1998
This multi-volume work contains biographies of individuals, both alive and dead, from around the world. Because it is updated yearly, check the latest volume for the most accurate index.
Commire, Anne. Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. Waterforld, CT: Yorkin Publications, 1999-2001.
Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999
Biographical information on women from around the world can be found in this seventeen-volume set. The biographies are detailed and also include a lengthy bibliography.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDavid Nolen
Contact Info:
325-7682
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait