Naxos Music Library is an entertaining, educational resource, which offers the best selection of studied music on the web. Through a sophisticated online search engine, users select music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists are easily created for educational use or for hours of continuous enjoyment. Composer biographies, CD liner notes, and work analyses are just a few of the text resources available to users while streaming music from the NML. Naxos's new releases (around 200 CDs annually) are continually added, ensuring an impressive selection in both quality and musical breadth.
The library has several databases available to support Music. Thes following databases may be accesed through the provided links, or by visiting the Database page (from the library's homepage) and inputting the Database Title.
Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music
This database is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.