Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

National Library Week

Borrow, Renew, Request

Borrow, Renew, and Request materials from the Access Services Desk to get materials from any library on MSU's Starkville, Meridian, or Jackson campuses, and tap into public and academic library collections throughout Mississippi through the Mississippi Library Partnership.  Find out more about the circulation policies and more here.

For the safety of our patrons and staff, the A-M 3rd floor reading room will not be available from 7a.m. – 5p.m.  You can virtually browse the shelves by using a call number browse feature in the catalog.  If you need materials from the A-M section during the day, use the PLACE HOLD button found in the online catalog next to the citation information. For more assistance, ask a Library faculty or staff member. Feel free to use the Chat service or contact the Access Services desk at (662) 325-7668.

Technology in the Library

The Digital Media Center supports teaching, learning, and research at Mississippi State University. We can lend you equipment or media, help you design and create projects and presentations, teach you software skills, and more.  To reserve equipment or tech-equipped rooms in the library, or for questions about creating, editing, or printing multimedia projects, call the IMC at 662-325-7676 or click here.

Templeton Music Museum

 (photo of Mr. Templeton with Nipper, courtesy of Russ Houston)

The Charles H. Templeton, Sr. Museum showcases a collection of musical instruments, recordings, and sheet music amassed over four decades and donated to MSU in 1987 by Starkville businessman Charles H. Templeton, Sr.

The mission of the Museum is to tell a story about the "business of music," the moods music generates, and the influence of music on today's society. It allows you to explore the changes that swept the music industry and American culture during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Step back into a fascinating era of changing fashion, culture, and music.

The Templeton Ragtime Festival, which occurs at the end of March every year, celebrates this history. Museum hours are Monday-Friday 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

Ask-a-Librarian

Need help with your research?  Not sure how to get started?  Don’t get up--try the MSU Libraries online help desk instead!  Research librarians are standing by on chat, text, Twitter and email to help you wherever you are, when you need it. Look for this logo on our website to find help!

Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library

The Grant Presidential Collection consists of some 15,000 linear feet of correspondence, research notes, artifacts, photographs, scrapbooks, and memorabilia and includes information on Grant's childhood from his birth in 1822, his later military career, Civil War triumphs, tenure as commanding general after the war, presidency, and his post-White House years until his death in 1885. Currently, construction to build a new gallery space for these collections is ongoing, but the present residence of these papers are in the MSU Libraries' Congressional and Political Research Center.  Follow the US Grant Library on Twitter: @USGrantLibrary! (Image courtesy of @USGrantLibrary)

MSU Libraries @ Meridian

The Phil Hardin Foundation Library at the College Park campus is located on the  second floor of the College Park Campus facility.  Existing classrooms and a  meeting room were renovated to form an 1800 square-foot library space with  comfortable seating, room for student collaboration, library instruction, access to  print and electronic resources, and a relaxing view of the wooded area near the  campus. Call the Reference desk at 601-484-0237.

Soon to open is the new library facility, made available through the Phil Hardin Foundation at the MSU Meridian, Riley Campus located in downtown Meridian

Archives and Library Treasures

MSU Libraries Special Collections are made up of 5 areas: Mississippiana, Genealogy and Local HistoryRare Books, Manuscripts, and University Archives

The Libraries' Special Collections department collects items relevant to Mississippi and MSU history, agricultural and environmental history in the U.S. South, civil rights research, journalism, important moments in Starkville history and culture, African American history, rare maps of Mississippi, and much, MUCH more! Find hidden treasures - old and new - through the Special Collections department! (Image from Het Groote Tafareel der Dwaasheid, vertoonende de opkomst, voortgang en ondergang der actie, in the Rare Books collection).

Digital Collections

The Digital Preservation and Access Unit is responsible for digitizing, maintaining, and providing access for MSU Libraries' digital content, including media from past collections and present events.  Nearly 1500 newly digitized images have been added to the University Archives Digital collection.  These include many old photos from the A&M days, all the way up to present-day.  Highlights include photos of athletics, Bully, campus organizations and activities, as well as Extension Service and 4-H programs.

"Behind the Scenes"

The Technical Services Department consists of 5 areas. Acquisitions processes and orders new materials for the library (purchases, donations, etc.), and Cataloging creates thousands of bibliographic records for new print and non-print materials each year, including books, DVDs, serials, maps, graphic novels, and electronic resources. Binding ensures they can be preserved on the shelf and in your hands! These materials can all be found through the Libraries’ online catalog.

Serials and Electronic Resources process, maintain, and provide access to periodicals--both print and online--and other electronic resources (such as e-books, databases, etc.) that you see listed on the library website.

See the cataloging department's display of the history of cataloging, Monday, 4/11, 10:00-2:00 on the second floor of the library!

Architecture Library

The recent work projects and inventory of the Special Collections in the Bob and Kathy Luke Library revealed many valuable pieces. This collection includes rare holdings in art, architecture and design gathered over the years as gifts from donors as well as purchased items.  The recent renovations of the Bob and Kathy Luke Library included updating furnishings, carpet, new paint, ceiling work and the installation of new sprinklers and additional shelving. Construction projects are complete!