Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

1963 Mississippi State University Basketball Team

In 1963, Coach Babe McCarthy and the MSU Basketball team were forced to sneak out of state in order to play against Loyola (Chicago) in the NCAA Tournament, defying the "Unwritten Rule" that Mississippi teams could not play against integrated schools.

Images from the Loyola University Digital Collections

Loyola player Vic Rouse soars high for a basket against Mississippi State in the NCAA Regional Semi-finals. Image from the1963 Loyolan.

“Loyola vs. Mississippi State, Regional semi-finals,” Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections, accessed March 15, 2013, http://www.lib.luc.edu/specialcollections/items/show/228.

Loyola's Mens Basketball team, the 1963 National Basketball Champions pose with thier championship trophy.

“1963 NCAA Champs,” Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections, accessed March 15, 2013, http://www.lib.luc.edu/specialcollections/items/show/225.

Images from the Mississippi State University Archives Digital Collections

Coach Babe McCarthy, Team Captain Joe Dan Gold, and Assistant Coach Jerry Simmons pose for a photograph.

Coach Babe McCarthy, Team Captain Joe Dan Gold, and Assistant Coach Jerry Simmons pose for a photograph. Courtesy the Mississippi State University Libraries, University Archives.

1962-1963 Mississippi State University Basketball Team

1962-1963 Mississippi State University Basketball Team. Courtesy the Mississippi State University Libraries, University Archives.