The MSU Libraries is proud to be the home of a number of unique collections that have attracted researchers from throughout the country. These special collections have been made more accessible through the MSU Digital Library, which strives to support teaching, service and research by developing digital projects that provide greater access to Library collections and other unique University holdings.
To date, digitized materials representing selected holdings in the Manuscripts, University Archives, U.S. Grant Association, and the Congressional & Political Research Center areas of the MSU Library are accessible through the Digital Library. These include diaries, correspondence, ledgers, photographs, transcripts, sheet music, and other unique materials, as well as publications.
Material continues to be added to existing collections and planning for future digitization projects is ongoing.
Mississippi State University's Lloyd-Ricks-Watson Building, built in 1929 to house agricultural programs, is home to the School of Human Sciences and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. "Echoes of Lloyd-Ricks-Watson" collects oral histories from people who have worked in this building.
The CHARM digital collection includes photographs, documents, correspondence, diaries, and other materials which document the people, products, and related social and economic aspects of forestry and agriculture in Mississippi. Major collections include photos from the Langfitt Farm Families of the Week program, which aired from 1954-1961 on WLBT-TV in Jackson, and the photos from the Cully A. Cobb Antique Tool Museum.
The Congressional and Political Research Center digital collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and documents relating to local, state, and national legislatures and politics.
The Charles H. Templeton, Sr. Sheet Music digital collection contains over 20,000 pieces of sheet music in the following genres: Ragtime, Blues, Movie tunes, Foxtrots, Popular music, Minstrel music, Show tunes, Irving Berlin, War songs, and Specialty. The collections also contain photographs and information about the cylinder players, gramophones, phonographs, and instruments on display in the Charles H. Templeton Sr. Music Museum.
Part of the ASERL project "Civil War in the American South," this collection comprises 150 documents published between 1850 and 1865, primarily documenting Mississippi and Mississippians from many localities within the state, and containing subject matter that contributes to a better understanding of the non-military aspects of the Civil War.