Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Information Portal for Alumni

This research guide provides information on library resources and services available to MSU alumni.

Alumni Discovery

The MSU Libraries is providing active members of the MSU Alumni Association with access to EBSCO's Academic Search Alumni Edition, Business Source Alumni Edition, Professional Development Collection and the MSU Libraries' Digital Collections. These resources can be accessed simultaneously using the Discovery search box below. After clicking on search, members of the Alumni Association can log in using their NetId and NetPassword.

  • If you are not a paid member of the Alumni Association, you can join now.
  • If you are a paid member but do not remember your NetId or NetPassword, you can retrieve them using the ITS Password Maintenance page.
  • If you have further questions about your NetId or NetPassword, please contact ITS
Search Alumni Database
 

Books

Borrowing Privileges at the MSU Libraries

  • If you are an alumnus living in the Starkville area, you can obtain a free courtesy card that allows the cardholder to check out books from the MSU Libraries.
  • To obtain a courtesy card, alumni just need to provide Access Services with proof of membership in the Alumni Association.
  • Non-alumni community members may obtain a courtesy card for $20.00 annual fee.
  • A growing number of public libraries in the area have borrowing agreements with MSU Libraries through the Mississippi Library Partnership. This consortium allows card holders at one library to request books others in the system.

 

Find Books

  • To find books held by the MSU Libraries, search the libraries' Online Catalog.
  • The MSU Libraries shares the catalog with other area libraries. To request a book at another library, click on the "Place Hold" link.

If you are living in other parts of the state or elsewhere, be sure to check with you local public and college libraries to find out the borrowing privileges that they offer.

Magazine and Journal Articles for Mississippi Residents

On-Campus Access

  • MSU Alumni and other community users are welcome to use library databases on-site.
  • Go to the Research Services (formerly Reference) Department and ask for a a guest login.
  • You may print out materials for 10¢ a page. Scanners are also available for use free of charge.


Off-Campus Access

  • License agreements restrict off-campus access to library databases.
  • All Mississippi residents have access to a number of research databases through the legislature-funded Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities Through Library Information Access (MAGNOLIA).
  • Among the 40 databases available are the following:
    • Academic Search Premier
    • Business Source Complete
    • Consumer Health Complete
    • Environment Complete
    • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Professional Development Collection (for education)
  • Click on the MAGNOLIA logo below for more information.

 

magnolia logo

 

Note: While MAGNOLIA is only available to current Mississippi residents, many other states have similar programs. Check your local library for details.

 

Research Assistance

Need help finding the information you need? Click on the Ask-a-Librarian logo below to find out how to get assistance:

  • In-person
  • By phone
  • By email
  • Through chat reference