VIA (Visual Information Access) is an online collection that documents fine arts and other aspects of our culture and social history. VIA records include paintings, sculpture, photography, drawings, prints, architecture, decorative arts, trade cards, theater designs, maps and plans. A number of Harvard museums and libraries are taking part in the project with new material scanned and cataloged daily.
This Library of Congress site provides access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books and Web sites. High-quality images are made available on the Internet, providing access to research materials without the cost of travel and helping to preserve rare pieces. Issues considered in the project include questions regarding copyright, standards for image retrieval, as well as enhancing the collection with new images and information.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog provides public access to materials as a an ongoing contribution to research materials and public education. Collections highlight photographs, prints, drawings, posters, and architectural drawings. Copyright considerations are a factor in the display of some images. The staff of Prints and Photographs may be able to provide assistance in getting additional images or information.
The American Folklife Center has an extensive online guide ( http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guide/ ) for an orientation to the holdings. The American Memory project provides audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips.
Images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world’s most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. Covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.