Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Information Portal for Users with Disabilities

Information and resources for library users who need special accommodation.

Retrieval of Library Materials

Personnel at all public service desks can retrieve materials for persons with disabilities. Users may call ahead to ensure availability of materials.

Circulating books can be renewed by phone or email. See the Access Services page for more information.

Photocopying & Enlarging

Access Services will pull and photocopy Library materials at self-service rates for users who are unable to operate Library copiers due to disability. Enlarged, ledger-size copies are available at Access Services upon request at no extra charge. These users may also leave Library materials at the Access Services Desk for copying at self-service rates. Users with disabilities should identify themselves as requiring these services at the time of request or payment. Users can request these copying services in person, using the web form or by phone at (662) 325-7668 (TTY (662) 325-8183).

Special Collections personnel provide full-service copying for all users due to the nature of their materials. Rates for copying in this department vary according to the material copied.

Copyright laws apply.

Adaptive Equipment

The following adaptive equipment is available:

Podcasts

The Libraries have podcasts! Topics include Library departments and services, the Collins Speaker Series, and new Library resources. Several popular workshops have also been podcasted. Visit the Library's podcast page to download.

Research and Reference Services

Reference librarians can provide instruction on how to use any electronic databases/indexes or any other reference tools. In addition, in-depth research consultation appointments can be arranged by undergraduate and graduate students, MSU faculty and other members of the MSU community. 

Readers and attendants who assist MSU students with disabilities can also receive instructions on using library resources so they can better assist these students.

Users can make a research consultation appointment in person, using the web form or by calling the Reference Department at (662) 325-7667.

A text-only version of the EBSCO databases is now available. Individuals using screen readers such as JAWS or other adaptive software will find this version very easy to navigate. This version contains all of the same content for all databases as the original EBSCO; it is simply formatted for easier navigation when using screen readers and other adaptive software products. To link directly to the database list in the text-only version go to http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehostnojs.

Instructional Media Center

IMC personnel can provide instruction on how to use their various computer and media resources. 

Readers and attendants who assist MSU students with disabilities can also receive instructions on using these resources so they can better assist these students. Readers and attendants for students who are blind or visually impaired can receive training in the use of the scanners and Adobe's built-in OCR function should they need to scan materials for these students.

A small collection of fiction and nonfiction titles are available on cassette tape and CD. These items can be checked out for 28 days.

Popular Databases