Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Geoscience Research Guide

Library resources for Geosciences research

Distance Users

Are you a distance learner or doing research away from the main campus? If so, you still have access to a wide range of library resources and services.

Search research databases

  • To search research databases when off-campus, you just need to enter your Net ID and Net Password
  • To avoid access issues while off campus, we highly recommend that you install and use the MSU VPN
  • Look for full text links or use the "Find It" button to check for full text access. No full text? Place an Interlibrary Loan request.

Browse the Libraries' electronic journals

  • The library provides access to thousands of electronic journals

Request articles and book chapters from the Libraries' print collections

  • Request an electronic copy of a print article or book chapter through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    • Say "Yes" to the "Copy Service" option when placing your request
  • The MSU Libraries will scan the article or book chapter for you and deliver it to your Interlibrary Loan account
  • Please note:
    • This is a free service for distance students, faculty, and staff
      • When you first log in to ILLiad, you will be asked to complete your ILLiad profile. For the Site field, options include Distance Education, Extension Service, and Experiment Station. Be sure to choose the appropriate option.
    • Other users will be charged 25 cents per page

Request books from the Libraries' print collections

  • Search for the book in the Online Catalog
  • Use the blue "Place Hold" button for any book owned by MSU to have it mailed to you
  • Select "MSU-Distance Ed Student" as your pickup library
  • Please note:
    • You will be responsible for return shipping costs
    • This service is only available for books owned by the MSU Libraries

Request items not found in the Libraries' print or electronic collections

  • Place a request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    • Articles and book chapters are usually sent electronically, while books are mailed
    • This is almost always a free service. However, if we cannot get the item from another library for free, we will let you know how much it would cost before filling the request.

Get research assistance

For additional information, visit the MSU Libraries' Information Portal for Distance Learners