Hard copy books below are locate don the 3rd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library. Be sure to browse the the books around them for other useful sources.
APA Dictionary of Psychology® by
This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology by
"Edited and authored by leaders in the field, this comprehensive three-volume set lays a solid foundation for integrating theory, research, practice, and policy in contemporary family psychology."
Assessment of Older Adults with Diminished Capacitiy: A Handbook for Psychologists by
"This publication is designed to give psychologists and other health care providers important information to help guide their work with older adults."
The Co-Parents Handbook by
The Co-Parents? Handbookhelps parents confidently take on the challenges of raising children when they live in separate homes. Addressing parents? questions about the emotional impact of separation, conflict, grief, and recovery, the author skillfully provides a roadmap for all members of the family to constructively navigate through separation/divorce and beyond. Through practical and reassuring guidance, parents discover how to move from being angry and hurt partners to constructive, successful co-parents who are able to put their children?s needs first.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Development
"... a project from the Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development (CEECD) supported by Université Laval and Université de Montréal. Over the years, this organization has built a solid network of international experts who gather, synthesize and comment, in their respective domain of expertise, the most up-to-date scientific knowledge available on the development of young children, from conception to age five."
The Handbook of Child Life by
It has been said that the moral test of a society is how it treats its most vulnerable citizens. Those who enter the field of child life daily encounter those in our society who are among the most vulnerable . . . vulnerable because of their age and their ways of interpreting the world, vulnerable because of their physical circumstances, vulnerable because of the unfamiliar they encounter, vulnerable at times because of additional barriers such as language, poverty or prejudice. Yet, the child life specialist understands that each individual, despite the vulnerabilities he or she may bring to an encounter, also brings strength and resiliency. The task of the child life specialist is to build upon those strengths and to minimize individual vulnerability and maximize the growth of the individual. This book addresses the most important aspects of the practice of child life. The book is geared toward an audience beyond the introductory level and includes information on the state of the art in each chapter covered. Wherever possible, the book demonstrates application of the contents in practice through case studies. The goal of this text is to assist in this process, drawing upon the expertise of leading figures in the field to help provide child life specialists, and other allied health professionals, with the knowledge and skills they will need to accomplish this important task.
Handbook of Child Sexual Abuse by
A comprehensive guide to the identification, assessment, and treatment of child sexual abuse The field of child sexual abuse has experienced an explosion of research, literature, and enhanced treatment methods over the last thirty years. Representing the latest refinements of thought in this field, Handbook of Child Sexual Abuse: Identification, Assessment, and Treatment combines the most current research with a wealth of clinical experience. The contributing authors, many of whom are pioneers in their respective specialties, include researchers and clinicians, forensic interviewers and law enforcement professionals, caseworkers and victim advocates, all of whom do the work of helping children who have been sexually victimized. Offering a snapshot of the state of the field as it stands today, Handbook of Child Sexual Abuse explores a variety of issues related to child sexual abuse, from identification, assessment, and treatment methods to models for implementation and prevention, including: The impact of sexual abuse on the developing brain The potential implications of early sexual victimization Navigating the complexities of multidisciplinary teams Forensic interviewing and clinical assessment Treatment options for children who have traumagenic symptoms as a response to their sexual victimization Treating children with sexual behavior problems and adolescents who engage in illegal sexual behavior Secondary trauma and vicarious traumatization Cultural considerations and prevention efforts Edited by a leader in the field of child therapy, this important reference equips helping professionals on the front lines in the battle against child sexual abuse--not merely with state-of-the-art knowledge--but also with a renewed vision for the importance of their role in the shaping of our culture and the healing of victimized children.
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment, 5th ed. by
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment, Fifth Edition is a multidisciplinary text that takes a contemporary approach in line with patient and family centered care. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it contains the latest information on geriatric assessments for older adults. Completely updated and revised, the Fifth Edition includes several new chapters, including demographic trends, age friendly health systems, payment reform and impact, the VA health system, self-care and management, impact on familial relations, vulnerable populations, building geriatric interdisciplinary teams, advanced care planning, caregiver information, spiritual assessment, senior hunger, and transitions of care.
Handbook of Play Therapy by
A complete, comprehensive play therapy resource for mental health professionals Handbook of Play Therapy is the one-stop resource for play therapists with coverage of all major aspects written by experts in the field. This edition consolidates the coverage of both previous volumes into one book, updated to reflect the newest findings and practices of the field. Useful for new and experienced practitioners alike, this guide provides a comprehensive introduction and overview of play therapy including, theory and technique, special populations, nontraditional settings, professional and contemporary issues. Edited by the founders of the field, each chapter is written by well-known and respected academics and practitioners in each topic area and includes research, assessment, strategies, and clinical application. This guide covers all areas required for credentialing from the Association for Play Therapy, making it uniquely qualified as the one resource for certification preparation. Learn the core theories and techniques of play therapy Apply play therapy to special populations and in nontraditional settings Understand the history and emerging issues in the field Explore the research and evidence base, clinical applications, and more Psychologists, counselors, marriage and family therapists, social workers, and psychiatric nurses regularly utilize play therapy techniques to facilitate more productive sessions and promote better outcomes for patients. Handbook of Play Therapy provides the deep, practical understanding needed to incorporate these techniques into practice.
