Research Guides: Human Development and Family Science (HDFS): Find Articles

Off-Campus Access

For best results when accessing library resources when off-campus, you should first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network (VPN), which ITS provides. For more information, see https://servicedesk.msstate.edu/TDClient/KB/?CategoryID=80

Articles Databases

To get more help with research or find more databases, contact your Subject Specialist librarian!

If the MSU Libraries don't have the article you need in print or electronically, order it through Interlibrary Loan.

Unless otherwise noted, you must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary research database that indexes thousands of journals, magazines, and trade publications. Primary coverage back to the 1990s, but some content goes back much further.
Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 80 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as scocial sciences, engineering, and business.
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 4,000 journals covering all aspects of business, including consumer science and more. Coverage back to the 1920s and beyond.
ERIC
"ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week." You can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education, etc. Coverage back to 1960s.
Google Scholar
Indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations. It can be very useful when trying to find a PDF of a specific article.
- Remember, for a good literature review, Google Scholar should be seen as a supplement rather than a substitute for other library databases.
- If you see a “Find It@MSState Libraries” on the right, then click on that link to get the full article.
- When off-campus, you can get more access to full articles by using the MSU VPN.

Search Tips

This …	Finds records with …
literacy AND autism	both terms (AND is automatic for words in a searchbox)
daycare OR "child care"	either term
"early intervention"	this exact phrase
parent*	parent, parents, parental, etc. (known as truncation)
reading NOT writing	the 1^st term but not the 2^nd (use sparingly)

Here's an example of how these can be combined in a database such as ERIC:

literacy OR reading

AND daycare OR "child care"

Older Indexes

These resources are located in the Research Services Department of Mitchell Memorial Library.

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography
Call Number: Ref HQ750.A1 C47
This resource can be useful for finding older material. The reference department has volumes from 1927 to 2001. This title ceased publication in 2002.
Population Index
Call Number: HB Z7164.D3 P83
This resource is published by Princeton University's Office of Population Research. Volumes from 1937to 1999 are in Reference, and volumes from 1937 to present are electronic via this link. An online version is available through JSTOR.

Library update: Recent database changes

Human Development and Family Science (HDFS)

Off-Campus Access

Articles Databases

Search Tips

Older Indexes