Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

MAGNOLIA Training Resources

This guide provides training resources for use with MAGNOLIA databases. Also included are handouts and PowerPoint slides from prior MAGNOLIA presentations.

Promoting MAGNOLIA

Promote MAGNOLIA in your school or library!

MAGNOLIA Training Resources

The Library Instructional Services Department of the MSU Libraries actively works to promote and support the MAGNOLIA (Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities Through Library Information Access) project through workshops, online training sessions, and training materials. Please feel free to use any of the materials or tutorials provided in this guide when working with MAGNOLIA databases or training!

If you have questions about any of the resources provided in this guide, please feel free to contact the Library Instructional Services Department at (662) 325-0810.

Database Highlight

 

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive, full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs. 

  • More than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews.
  • 75,000 articles of literary criticism.
  • 130,000 author biographies.
  • Full text of over 300 literary journals.
  • 500,000 book reviews.
  • 25,000 classic and contemporary poems.
  • Over 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories.
  • 3,000 author interviews.
  • Over 1,000 images of key literary figures.

To explore Literary Reference Center and other subject-specific resources, visit your local list of MAGNOLIA databases!

Resources of Interest

Subject Guide

Beth Downey's picture
Beth Downey
Contact:
Mitchell Memorial Library
P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Office Location: Research Services #2316
(662) 325-3834