Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Spanish Language and Literature

Information on researching Spanish language and literature

Electronic Databases for Linguistic Research

The following databases are useful when researching linguistic topics, such as second-language acquisition or sociolinguistics.

Books in the Catalog

A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 4th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
Call Number: Ref P29 .C65
Contains various aspects of linguistic theory and research, including the developing terminology of principles in syntax, contemporary semantics; and speech recognition and synthesis.
Enciclopedia Linguística Hispánica. 3 volumes. Madrid, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cienti´ficas, 1960-
Call Number: Ref PC45 .E5
Provides a scholarly treatment of peninsular Spanish. Bibliographic footnotes are included.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref P29 .I58
Includes articles on specific languages or language families. Describes many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts.
Introducción a la Linguística Hispánica. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
Call Number: PC4073 .H83
Covers the structure, history, and dialects of the Spanish language. The text is clear and accessible with exercises accompanying each chapter.
Linguística iIbero-Románica; Crítica Retrospective. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1974.
Call Number: PC4097 .C357
Reviews work done since 1870 and also evaluates the contributions of major scholars in the field.
The LINGUIST List -- Learn Spanish
http://www.lingolex.com/spanish.htm
The Syntax of Spanish. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Call Number: PC4361 .Z34
An introduction to Spanish syntax. Following a descriptive overview of the major characteristics of the grammar, the book describes facts about Spanish, such as its word order, notions of "subject," "direct object," "auxiliary verb" and so forth.

Subject Guide