Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Spanish Language and Literature

Information on researching Spanish language and literature

Finding Books

To locate books on a particular topic, you can try the search options below:

Examples of Books of Literary Scholarship

Dictionaries

Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary: Unabridged. New York: HarperCollins, 1996.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .S595
Diccionario de Autoridades. 3 volumes. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1964.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .A3
The first dictionary of the Real Academia Español. One of the comprehensive dictionaries that cites important authors.
Diccionario de uso del Español. 2 volumes. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1975.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .M6
Provides instructions on proper usage of troublesome expressions. Synonyms are listed.
Grijalbo: Diccionario del Español Actual. Barcelona: Ediciones Grijalbo, 1988.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .G75
Includes the vocabulary of the second half of the twentieth-century using real records. All the information has been compiled from books of all genres and thousands of periodic publications.
Larousse Diccionario Compact: Español Inglés, Ingle´s Español. Paris: Larousse/VUEF, 2002.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .L38
Provides extensive, up-to-date vocabulary in all subject areas. Idioms, grammatical constructions, abbreviations, acronyms, proper nouns, and a supplement on life and culture in Latin America are included.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 3 volumes. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 C35
A comprehensive and authoritative information resource. Provides historical and literary review of particular periods and genres.
The Oxford Spanish Desk Dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .O83
Includes over 80,000 words and phrases and 115,000 translations.
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary and Grammar. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .L45
Provides detailed coverage of every language field from general to specialist vocabulary. The Grammar section offers a comprehensive and easy-to-use guide covering the construction of the language.

Encyclopedias of Culture & Literature

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. London; New York: Routledge, 1999
Call Number: Ref DP233.5 .E63
Includes both specific and general topics. All articles are signed and a subject listing and suggestions for further reading are included.
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Available online (Electronic Book).
Collects essays on authors, books, and themes related to the literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. Focuses on important novels, historical authors, literature from smaller Latin American countries, and more material on non-Hispanic Caribbean authors.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: C. Scribner's Sons; London: Simon & Schuster: Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Call Number: Ref F1406 .E53
Cover the history, culture, related persons, and places broadly to reflect the experience and understanding of Latin Americans of all classes.

Bibliographies

Bibliografía de Escritores Hispanoamericanos, 1609-1974: A Bibliography of Spanish-American Writers. New York : Gordian Press, 1975.
Call Number: Ref PQ Z1609.L7 F55
Lists 200 authors, indexing editions of collected and single works, bibliographies, and critical publications.
Bibliografía de la Literatura Hispánica. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cienti´ficas, 1983.
Call Number: Ref Z2691.S5
The book comprises on title entries of monographs, journals and newspapers. Supplements in the Revista de Literatura.
Compludoc: Base de datos de Artículos de Revistas (Online resource)
http://europa.sim.ucm.es/compludoc/
Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. New York, N.Y.: Modern Language Association of America, 1987.
Call Number: Ref Z2695.A2 W66
A comprehensive annotated listing of sources. Includes an index of authors, editors, and compilers.
LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
http://libro.uca.edu/
Manual de Bibliografía de la Literatura Española. 3ed. Madrid: Gredos, 1980.
Call Number: Ref Z2691.S54
Covers literature from the earliest times up to 1976 and in the Empire until emancipation.
Spanish literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Call Number: Ref Z2692.M67
Provides references to materials on a broad range of topics. Lists critical studies on individual authors.

Subject Guide