Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Spanish Language and Literature

Information on researching Spanish language and literature

Finding Articles

To find individual articles from a wide-variety of journals, the easiest place to begin is with the electronic databases. By using the databases listed below, you can find either article abstracts or full-text articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject search. 

To access the full text of an available article, just click on the PDF or HTML link.  If there is no link to the full article, click on the "Find It" button to verify whether MSU has access to the item in either print or electronic format through another database.  If MSU does not have access to the article, it may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Literary Electronic Databases

The databases listed below are good starting points for finding articles for Spanish literary research.  Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Literary Reference Center, MLA International Bibliography, and Project MUSE contain some articles in electronic full text. To search across some of these databases at once, you can do keyword searches in EBSCO Discovery from the library homepage.

Gale Literary Index does not provide electronic access to articles, but it does provide the volume and page number information to locate literary articles in the print volumes in the Undergraduate Research Center in the Reference Department.

Search for literary criticism in an electronic database by entering the author's name or the name of the literary work.  Putting the name of the literary work in quotation marks (Ex. "Cien años de soledad") will search for that title as a phrase.

Print Literary Resources

E-Journals

If you want to browse a specific journal, check our holdings by searching that journal in our Online Catalog.  Click the Find It button to see our electronic access.  The journals listed below are some of the titles available electronically through the MSU Libraries or on the web.

Subject Guide