Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Wildlife, Fisheries & Aquaculture Research Guide

This guide provides links to resources and services related to the study of Wildlife, Fisheries & Aquaculture and related research areas.

Find Books, Theses, and Dissertations

Books often provide a more systematic overview of a research topic than is usually found in articles. Theses and dissertations usually have helpful literature reviews that are more detailed than most articles.

Find Articles, Conference Papers, and More

Listed below are databases that you may find useful for Wildlife, Fisheries & Aquaculture research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online indexes and databases, click here.

If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.

Unless otherwise indicated, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Other Research Databases

Listed below are databases that you may find useful for Wildlife, Fisheries & Aquaculture research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online indexes and databases, click here.

If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.

Unless otherwise indicated, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Search Tips

  • Search Connectors 
    • AND    : narrows the search by finding records with both terms
    • OR      : broadens the search by finding records with either term
    • NOT    : narrows the search by finding records with 1st term but not 2nd
       
  • Truncation
    • Using the asterisk (*) to stand in for all word endings

e.g. forest*  for forest, forests, forestry, forester, etc.

  • Searching by Phrase
    • Place an exact phrase in quotes
       
  • Subject Terms
    • Special indexing terms that may differ from one database to another
    • Found in each record and also on the left by clicking on  “Subjects”
    • Once subject terms for a database have been identified, can change search fields from “Select a Field” to “SU Subjects” (exact wording can vary by database)
       
  • Limit by Year
    • Can be done on the initial search screen or (in EBSCO databases) by using the slider on the right in the results
       
  • Sort by Relevance
    • This is the default in EBSCO databases, but not in Scopus. In Scopus you can change sorting on the results page.

How to Find the Full Text of an Article

When searching a database:

1. If you don't find a link to the full-text in the database, use the Find It button to search all MSU databases for the full-text.

Find It button

2. If we don't have the full-text online, click on the link provided to see if the MSU Library owns a print copy. This will search the Online Catalog for the journal.

3. Examine any holdings statements to determine if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.

4. If we don't have the article online OR in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.


When you just have a citation:

1. Copy and paste the name of the article title into the library's Discovery database.

2. Follow the steps above to determine if the library has the article you need.


Note:

Many authors, especially federal government employees, post versions of their articles online. So you may be able to find what you need through a Google or Google Scholar search.