Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

German Language and Literature

Information on researching German language and literature

Biographies and Bibliographies

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: V. Klostermann, 1970-
Call Number: Ref Z2231 .B5
An international bibliography of German language and literary studies. Each volume comprises on title entries of monographs, journals and newspapers. Reviews of primary literature are also included.
Bibliographien zur deutschen Literatu des Mittelalters. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1950.
Cataloged individually with different call numbers and kept in Reference Department. Contains seven volumes.
Boor, Helmut de and Richard Newald. Geschichte der deutschen Literature von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. Munchen, Beck, 1957-
Call Number: Ref PT85 .B642
A history of German literature with good bibliographies.
Hansel, Johannes. Bucherkunde fur Germanisten: Studienausgabe. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1983
Call Number: Ref Z2235.A2 H3
Provides bibliographical information on linguistics, literature, literary periods, and genres.
Kosch, Wilhelm. Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon. Biographisch-Bibliographisches Handbuch. 3rd ed. Bern u. Munchen, Francke, 1968-
Call Number: Ref Z2230 .K826
The most complete and extensive resource on German authors. Provides biographies and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Covers all of German literature, including titles of anonymous works.
Kunish, Hermmne. Lexikon der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. MÃœnchen: Nymphenburger, 1981.
Call Number: PT155 .K85
Bio- bibliographical references and indexes of 20th century German literature.
Schmitt, Franz Anselm. Stoff- und Motivgeschichte der deutschen Literatur; eine Bibliographie. Berlin: >De Gruyter, 1965.
Call Number: Ref Z2231 .S35
Covers German literature history and criticism bibliography.
Stammer, Wolfgang. Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon. Unter Mitarbeit zahlreicher Fachgenossen. Berlin, Die Gruyter, 1933.
Call Number: Ref Z2230 .S78
Biographies of German authors from the 8th to the 16th century. Each entry has a list of bibliography.

Subject Guide