A Companion to German Literature: from 1500 to the Present.
Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1997. Ref PT236.S55
This reference source examines the history of German literature
from the Reformation and Renaissance periods to the late 20th century. Its nine
chapters discuss the various themes and special characteristics of literature
from the German-speaking areas of Europe. The book also includes biographical
profiles of the featured authors.
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases. New York:
Oxford University Press, 1998. Ref PA2365.E5 M67 1998
addition to translations of Latin words and phrases, this dictionary provides
pronunciation guides, a list of major Latin writers, and several subject
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture. New
York: Routledge, 2002. Ref DS822.5.E516 2002
articles in this encyclopedia cover both general and specific topics associated
with post-World War II Japan. The entries include geographical, biographical,
and cultural subjects.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. New
York: Routledge, 1999. Ref DP233.5 .E63 1999
articles in this encyclopedia cover both specific and general topics related to
the decades following the end of the Spanish Civil War in 1939, including
Catalan, Galician, and Basque languages and cultures; musicians; politicians;
and writers. The entries include subject listings and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of German Literature. 2 volumes. Chicago:
Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000. Ref PT91.E53 2000
encyclopedia explores the literature from the various regions of Germany, each
with its own unique characteristics. The entries include authors, works, and
French Culture & Society: The Essentials. New
York: Oxford University Press, 2001. Ref DC33.7.F7265
This encyclopedic dictionary contains entries related to social
life and customs in 20th century France.
Latin for the Illiterati: Exorcising the Ghosts of a Dead
Language. New York: Routledge, 1996. Ref PA2365.E5.S76
This handbook includes over 6,000 entries, which include
translations of common Latin words, expressions, phrases, and adages.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. New
York: Oxford University Press, 2001. Ref PQ41.N48
This reference source includes over 3,000 entries, which
provide an overview of literature published in France, and in French-speaking
countries worldwide, over the last ten centuries. The articles cover poets,
novelists, dramatists, historians, philosophers, literary movements and genres,
linguistics, the arts, and much more.
NTCs New Japanese-English Character Dictionary.
Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Company, 1993. Ref PL679.N72
This dictionary provides rules and patterns that apply when
writing Japanese characters, along with abbreviations, indexes, tables, and
several other useful features.
Oxford French Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford
University Press, 2001. Ref PC2540.O84 2001
dictionary contains both French-English and English-French translations, as well
as a French grammar guide. The latter covers parts of speech, punctuation,
translation problems, and verb conjugation.
Oxford German Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford
University Press, 2001. Ref PF3640.O943 2001.
dictionary follows the same format as its French
Oxford Spanish Dictionary and Grammar. New
York: Oxford University Press, 2001. Ref PC4640 .L45 2001
This dictionary follows the same format as its French and German
The Writers Reference Guide to Spanish. Austin, TX:
University of Texas Press, 1999. Ref PC4410.F68 1999
reference book covers Spanish language basics, such as capitalization, word
division, spelling, and punctuation, as well as special conventions for items
like abbreviations, titles and expressions.