Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

French Language and Literature

Information resources for researching French language and literature

French Literature & Literary Criticism

A Short History of French Literature. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Call Number: PQ119 .K39
Covers literature produced in the middle ages (the earliest to 1470), the early modern period (1470-1789), and the modern period (1789-2000).
Dictionary of Modern French Literature: From the Age of Reason through Realism. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
Call Number: Ref PQ41.D65
Dictionnaire des Ouvres de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays: Littérature, Philosophie, Musique, Sciences. 4 volumes. Paris: Paris, S. E. D. E. 1952-54.
Call Number: Ref AE25.D52
Echos de la Réforme dans la Litteérature de Langue Francaise de 1520 a` 1620. Lewiston [N.Y.]: Edwin Mellen Press, 2001.
Call Number: PQ239 .C74
Explores the impact of Protestantism on French literature during the Age of Reformation.
Fabula
http://www.fabula.org/
The site has articles on literary theory and criticism.
Guide to French Literature: Beginnings to 1789. Chicago: St. James Press, 1994.
Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref PQ41 .L48
Contains a wealth of entries for individuals and literary movements. Includes comprehensive bibliographies of works.
Literary and Linguistic Theories in Eighteenth-Century France: From Nuances to Impertinence. Oxford: Clarendon, 2000.
Call Number: PN45. N94
Introduces French literature philosophy and aesthetic theories in the eighteenth century.
Literary Theory: An Introduction. University of Minnesota Press, 1996.
Call Number: PN94.E2
Provides explanation of the literary theories which have appeared in the last century. A bibliography is included.
Littérature de Langue Française en Ligne
http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/deanhum/langlit/french/lit.html
Poesie Francaise
http://poesie.webnet.fr/
Republique Internationale des Letters
http://www.republique-des-lettres.com/republique-des-lettres.php
Offers articles on literature and literary criticism.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. Oxford [England]: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Call Number: Ref PQ41.N48
A handbook to literature produced in France and other French-speaking countries around the world. It highlights not only poets, novelists, and dramatists, but also historians, statesmen, and philosophers.
Women's Writing in Contemporary France: New Writers, New Literature in the 1990s. Manchester; New York: Manchester University Press, 2002.
Call Number: PQ149.W645
Offers analysis of new women's writing in contemporary France including both new writers of the 1990s and their more established counterparts.

Web Resources

Subject Guide