Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

French Language and Literature

Information resources for researching French language and literature

Linguistics

A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 4th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
Call Number: Ref P29 .C65
Contains various aspects of linguistic theory and research, including the developing terminology of principles in syntax, contemporary semantics; and speech recognition and synthesis.
A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. London: Arnold; New York: Distributed by St. Martin's Press, 1997.
Ref Call Number: P29 .T69
Covers language and linguistics with concise definitions.
Acquiring French Vocabulary
http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/vocab.shtml
Dictionnaire des Synonymes
http://elsap1.unicaen.fr/dicosyn.html
French Grammar Central
http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/gramm.shtml
French Linguistics
http://www.french-linguistics.co.uk/dictionary/
French Listening and Speaking Central
http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/oral.shtml
Grand Dictionnaire Francais-Anglais, Anglais-Francais. Paris: Larousse, 1998.
Call Number: Ref PC2640 .G68
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref P29 .I58
Includes articles on specific languages or language families. Describes many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts.
Langue du XIXe Siécle
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/epc/langueXIX/
Oxford French Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC2540.O84
Contains French-English and English-French translations. Provides guide to French grammar, covering parts of speech, verb conjugation, translation problems, and so forth.
Tex's French Grammar (University of Texas - Austin)
http://www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/
Thresor de la Langue Francoyse (1606)
http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/dicos/TLF-NICOT/
Verb Conjugation (part of ARTFL project)
http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/forms_unrest/inflect.query.html

Linguistics Web Resources

Culture

Language and Grammar Online Resources

Subject Guide