Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Water Resources Research Guide

Find Books, Theses, and Dissertations

Books often provide a more systematic overview of a research topic than is usually found in articles. Theses and dissertations usually have helpful literature reviews that are more detailed than most articles.

Find Articles and More

You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.

Find Standards

"A standard is a document that contains technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as a rule, guideline, or definition of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes, personnel or services are competent and/or fit for their intended purpose(s)." (Source: NIST)

Find Patents

How to Find the Full Text of an Article

When searching a database:

1. If you don't find a link to the full-text in the database, use the Find It button to search all MSU databases for the full-text.

Find It button

2. If we don't have the full-text online, click on the link provided to see if the MSU Library owns a print copy. This will search the Online Catalog for the journal.

3. Examine any holdings statements to determine if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.

4. If we don't have the article online OR in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.


When you just have a citation:

1. Copy and paste the name of the article title into the library's Discovery database.

2. Follow the steps above to determine if the library has the article you need.


Note:

Many authors, especially federal government employees, post versions of their articles online. So you may be able to find what you need through a Google or Google Scholar search.

Google Scholar Tips

Google Scholar is a freely available resource, but most publishers do not provide free access to the full text of their journals. The following steps can help you to find the full text articles to which the MSU Libraries subscribe:

  1. When off-campus, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.
    This will give you the same access off-campus as on-campus and will help to ensure that you can access all of the journals that the library subscribes to.
     
  2. Use the link to Google Scholar that is on the library’s website.
     
  3. Click on the title of the article result in Google Scholar
    If the library has paid for the content, you may be able to access it directly. Also, the article may come up if the author has posted it to their website (especially for federal employees). Links to author-posted versions may also appear next to article title.
     
  4. Click on “Find It@MSState Libraries”
    This will pull up the “Find It” screen that you see when searching other databases, such as CAB Abstracts.
     
  5. Search the article title in the Discovery database and click on any full text link or the "Find It" button.