Research Guides: Chemical Engineering Research Guide: Patents, Standards & Technical Reports

Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office
This website includes a database of full text or full-page image patent grants, as well as recent patent applications.
European Patent Office Database
This website offers patent information of 92 countries around the world.
The Lens
Indexes patent documents from USPTO, European Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and Australian Patent Office.
Google Patents
This site provides the full text of patents from around the world, and allows you to find prior art in the index of non-patent literature.
SciFinder
This database covers patent records from nine major patent offices worldwide.
World Intellectual Property Organization - Patent Scope
This site searches the technology contained in more than 32 million patent documents, including 2.2 million international patent applications.

To find technical reports, please check this particular guide: Technical Reports Research Guide .

ASABE Technical Library (Ag & Bio Engineering) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Society's journals, annual meeting papers, section meeting papers, conference proceedings, textbooks and teaching materials, monographs, special publications, and Distinguished Lecture Series.
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides credible resources from journals, books, technical standards, and other materials. You can access over 12,000 past and current ASTM standards.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

Selected online searching sites:

American National Standards Institute
Administrator and coordinator of the United States private sector voluntary standardization system for more than 80 years. Search by publication number or keyword.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration. Links to standards, standards background information, and sources for purchasing standards.