Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Undergraduate Student Book Collection Contest

The purpose of this contest is to encourage undergraduates to begin a book collection or add to an already existing collection.

About the Contest

The Mississippi State University Libraries with MaxxSouth Broadband and its owner John Robinson Block are pleased to announce the first annual MSU Undergraduate Student Book Collecting Contest.  The purpose of this contest is to encourage undergraduates to begin a book collection or add to an already existing collection. 

The first place winner will receive a $1,000 and the second place winner will receive $500.  The first place winner will be eligible to compete in the National Collegiate Book Collecting Competition held annually in Washington, D.C. at the Library of Congress. 

The contest encourages undergraduates to begin a book collection or add to an already existing collection.  One of the key points in book collecting is to collect what you like.  Developing a personal library can be a lifelong pursuit and this competition might be the first step towards a love of and a passion for books.

The winner of the First Prize is eligible to compete in the National Collegiate Book Collecting Competition held annually at the Library of Congress.  The first place prize in the National Book Collecting Contest is $2,500.00.  The National competition is sponsored by The Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America (ABAA), The Fellowship of American Bibliographic Societies (FABS), and The Center for the Book and Rare Books and Special Collections Division of The Library of Congress.  The Center for the Book was established to promote books, reading, literacy and libraries.