This is the "Election 2008" page of the "Campaigns, Voting, and Elections in the United States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Campaigns, Voting, and Elections in the United States   Tags: campaign, elections, history, law_government_documents, political_science_public_admin, presidential_debate, voting  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/Election2008 Print Guide RSS Updates

Election 2008 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mississippi Votes

Podcast Available

Presidential Debate Comes to Mississippi!
University of Mississippi September 26, 2008
http://www.olemiss.edu/debate/
Mississippi will play host to the first presidential debate of the 2008 election season. This site includes relevant news stories and a calendar of events surrounding the presidential debate in Oxford, MS. This first of three presidential debates in 2008 is to be broadcast live from the Ole Miss campus. More than 3,000 journalists from throughout the world are expected to cover the event.
Can I Vote?
http://www.canivote.org/
Sponsored by the National Association of Secretaries of State, this site lets users see state-level public information pertinent to national and local elections: to verify if they are registered to vote; to locate their polling place (where to go to vote); to know what kind of ID is required; to know dates for voting (voting that is only for local or state-level issues are often held on dates other than November); and to get information on becoming a poll worker.
Brennan Center for Justice. Election 2008: Current Voting Rights Issues
http://www.brennancenter.org/content/pages/election_2008
From the New York University School of Law. “Find the important issues facing the voting rights and elections community here, conveniently grouped in one place with clear definitions. In this section we will also be providing links to relevant Brennan Center for Justice materials—publications, studies, or one sheets—based on current voting rights issues.” (website) Coverage includes a legal guide to student voting, ballot design, veteran voting, voter assistance/general resources, election day problems, voter checklist pamphlet, voting after a criminal conviction, and state-based voting advocacy.
Resources from Google Maps.
Elections ’08 Map Gallery
http://maps.google.com/help/maps/elections/getstarted.html
“This year will forever be remembered as the year that technology changed politics. Join in the revolution by building your own elections map mash-up and sharing it with the world.” (website) Use the Search Queries Map to view Google search trends by state from the 2008 race. Click on the graph to select a specific date of search trends http://maps.google.com/help/maps/elections/#utm_campaign=en&utm_medium=ha& utm_so urce=en-ha-na-us-sk-mp&utm_term=election%20map
2008 US Voter Info
http://maps.google.com/maps/mpl?moduleurl=http://maps.google.com/mapfiles/mapplets/elections/2008/us-voter-info/us-voter-info.xml
Developed in cooperation with state and local election officials, the Voting Information Project, and the League of Women Voters, this site helps you find your voting location and other information pertinent to you locale such as registration deadlines and absentee ballot information.
Registering to Vote and Voting
http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Voting/Register.shtml
This web page provides a compilation of links to relevant web sites from federal agencies regarding voting registration and voting on election day. Links include the following: 2008 state primary dates, absentee ballots for U.S. citizens, absentee ballots and assistance for uniformed and overseas U.S. citizens, registering to vote by mail, etc.
Mississippi Secretary of State. Elections Division
http://www.sos.state.ms.us/elections/elections.asp
The Elections Division website of the Mississippi Secretary of State is a primary resource for campaign, election and voting information involving the state of Mississippi. Among its wealth of information, it includes: a menu of election supervisors by county, election action plans, sample ballots, redistricting information, campaign finance reports and handbooks, relevant state-level legal information, voter guides and voter registrars by county.
Mississippi Secretary of State. Elections: 2008 Elections
http://www.sos.state.ms.us/elections/2008/index.asp
This page presents a compilation of state-level information pertinent to the 2008 election cycle including the following: election results, including primaries; documents pertinent to election administration; candidate lists; documents involving judicial candidates, campaign finance and lobbying; election forms; and documents pertinent to election training.
Mississippi Secretary of State. Mississippi Official and Statistical Register: Blue Book. Jackson, MS: Secretary of State. Published every four years.
http://www.sos.state.ms.us/ed_pubs/BlueBook/
Mississippi’s Blue Book, published by the Mississippi Secretary of State, is the premier source for election statistics for the state. The section on Elections includes the following information: qualifying for office, voting absentee, County Election Commission Chairpersons with contact information, registered political parties with contact information, and Democratic and Republican Party Executive Committee members and County Chairpersons with contact information.
Vote-MS .org
http://vote-ms.org/
Mississippi section of Vote-USA.Org. Compare major political candidates on the issues; or enter your address and see a sample ballot for you precinct or see a list of currently elected officials with contact information, links to their official websites and information on their legislative appointments.

For print volumes, see Statistical ResourcesPrint Resources

Back to Top

 

Media Perspectives and News Updates

The following sites provide updates on the latest developments in the election cycle, as well as opinion, analysis and coverage of the candidates including bios and overviews of important issues this campaign season.

AOL News. Elections
http://news.aol.com/elections
CNET News. Election 2008
http://news.cnet.com/Election-2008-Campaign-coverage-for-the-digerati/2009-1028_3-6221134.html
News stories for the election cycle focusing on technology issues.
CNN Election Center 2008
http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/
CNN Page for Stories on Barack Obama
http://topics.cnn.com/topics/barack_obama
CNN Page for Stories on John McCain
http://topics.cnn.com/topics/john_mccain
CQPolitics
http://www.cqpolitics.com/
C-SPAN Politics: Campaign 2008
http://www.c-span.org/Politics/Default.aspx
Economist. US Election 2008
http://www.economist.com/research/articlesBySubject/display.cfm?id=9139211
Index of stories focusing on the 2008 election cycle from the Economist magazine.
Election.tv
http://www.election.tv/
“Election.tv is the premier online video resource for voters and candidates. Our objective is to make videos and profiles available for every candidate for every federal, state and local election in the United States. Election.tv is non-partisan and not affiliated with any political party.” --From the “About Us” section
Election Guide. Focus on US Elections.
http://www.electionguide.org/focus.php?focus&id=13
ElectionGuide provides timely and accurate information on: national elections around the world, and other electoral events deemed of high interest; political parties and candidates; referenda provisions; breaking news on election-related laws and political developments around the world; governmental and electoral structures; election results and voter turnout.
FiveThirtyEight: Electoral Projections Done Right
http://www.fivethirtyeight.com/
The purpose of Nate Silver’s site is to “accumulate and analyze polling and political data in a way that is informed, accurate and attractive. Most narrowly, to give you the best possible objective assessment of the likely outcome of upcoming elections.” (website)
Fox News Election HQ
http://elections.foxnews.com/
Google News: 2008 Election
http://news.google.com/?topic=el
Google compilation of links to the most current news stories in the 2008 election cycle. Each entry includes the title of the source of the news item, links to related videos and news items, and a ticker indicating how much time has elapsed since the story was released to the public.
Guardian UK: US Elections 2008
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/uselections2008
MSN. Your Vote ‘08
http://election.msn.com/
MSNBC Politics: Decision ’08
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/18970417/
National Public Radio: Election 2008
http://www.npr.org/templates/topics/topic.php?topicId=1102
The New York Times: Election 2008
http://elections.nytimes.com/2008/index.html
Presidential Election 2008
http://topics.nytimes.com/top/reference/timestopics/subjects/p/presidential_election_of_2008/index.html
Reuters: Election 2008
http://www.reuters.com/news/globalcoverage/2008candidates
Salon.Com: 2008 Election
http://www.salon.com/politics/election08/
Slate: Campaign Junkie
http://www.slate.com/id/2175823/
The Times Online: U.S. Elections (Times, London, England)
http://timesonline.typepad.com/uselections/
ThinkYouth.Org. Election 2008.
http://www.thinkyouth.org/election-2008/
“Think Youth was created out of the idea that young people who are interested in politics should have a place to come together and share their ideas. And in May of 2007, Think Youth was launched. As an organization of politically progressive teens and young adults, we feel that through our stories, our articles, and our message, we can have an impact using information as a tool to help educate others on the importance of being politically active.” (website)
University of Southern California: Election 2008: A Special Resource for Journalists
http://election2008.usc.edu/
USA Today: OnPolitics: Election 2008
http://blogs.usatoday.com/onpolitics/
Voice of America. USA Votes 2008
http://www.usavotes2008.com/
“A new, special interactive Website of the Voice of America (VOA) and its primary Website, VOANews.com. In this election year of unprecedented international interest, VOA has introduced this new online meeting place for visitors to both learn more about the candidates and electoral process, and to share their own experiences, comments, and questions . . . VOANews.com provides a comprehensive mix of text, audio, and video content in 45 languages, an accomplishment not equaled by any other international news organization . . . VOA's Internet, television, and radio broadcasts reach more than 134 million people each week.” (website)
The Washington Post: Politics
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/politics/elections/
Back to Top
 

Fact-Checking Web Resources

These sites share a common purpose as fact-checking resources. Some are focused on a particular party or candidate while others are unbiased and cover a variety of issues or hoaxes that need “debunking” or checking.

CNNPolitics.Com. FactChecker
http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/category/fact-check/
Begun as part of its Political Ticker blog, FactChecker features investigations focusing on the two major 2008 presidential candidates Obama and McCain.
FactCheck.org
http://www.factcheck.org
Fact Check monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases and is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. It serves as a nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. The APPC accepts no funding from business corporations, labor unions, political parties, lobbying organizations or individuals. (Foundation website)
Fight The Smears
http://www.fightthesmears.com/
Fact-checking site focusing on and affiliated with the Obama presidential campaign.
Snopes.Com
http://www.snopes.com/
Respected for several years as a resource for debunking Urban Legends, Snopes.Com also reports on urban legends and potential hoax stories in the election cycle. Each entry features a list of references citing sources used to verify the veracity of items investigated by the site authors Election items are listed by candidate and feature Barack Obama, Sarah Palin, Joe Biden and John McCain. Other election or campaign items can be found using their site search engine or browsing the Politics section.
Truth Fights Back
http://www.truthfightsback.com/
Liberal-leaning fact-checking site.
Back to Top
 

Close-Up On The Candidates

See also Video/Audio Live Streams and Archives

See also Fact Checking Web Resources

Center for US Global Engagement. Impact ’08: Presidential Election Resources
http://www.usglobalengagement.org/DebateResourcePage/tabid/3113/Default.aspx
Compares the major presidential candidates and political parties regarding foreign policy and global issues. “The Center for U.S. Global Engagement, the educational arm of the U.S. Global Leadership Campaign, unites business, humanitarian, faith-based, community and military leaders around the country to broaden our understanding of America’s interests . . . The Center works to educate and inspire support among the public, opinion leaders and policymakers for increasing American assistance abroad and strengthening our leadership in international affairs.” (website)
CivilRights,Org. Voting Resources and Voting Rights
http://www.civilrights.org/issues/voting/
“Voting is one of the most important tools Americans have to influence government policy. This comprehensive resource center will give you the information you need to register to vote, to prepare to vote, and to get help on voting day. In addition, you can learn where candidates stand on important civil rights issues, understand what's at stake in this election, and find out what you can do to help others exercise their right to vote.” (website)
Commission on Presidential Debates
http://www.debates.org/
“The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates.” (website) The site features video and debate transcripts from the 2008 election cycle.
Compare Candidates: Religion and Politics ‘08
http://pewforum.org/religion08/
The Compare Candidates feature compares the major presidential candidates’ standings on various issues for this election, including: abortion, church and states, death penalty, education, environment, Faith-based initiatives, gay marriage, health care, immigration, Iraq war, poverty and stem cell research. Coverage comprised of a paragraph for each candidate for each issue with links to relevant information.
Electoral Vote Predictor
http://www.electoral-vote.com/index.html
Tracks political polls for U.S. federal elections. The site was immensely popular in 2004 . . . In 2006, it tracked the Senate and House elections. Now it is back tracking the presidential, Senate, and House elections for 2008. Unlike other sites, which track generic national polls, this site tracks the state-by-state polls. After all, the presidency is decided by 51 separate state elections, the Senate by 35 separate elections (in 2008) and the House by 435 separate elections. As new state polls are released, the maps, spreadsheets, tables, graphs, etc. will be updated.” (website)
Frontline. The Choice 2008
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/choice2008/
From PBS, this program focuses on the two major presidential candidates in the 2008 presidential election.
GlassBooth. Election 2008
http://glassbooth.org/
Rate issues and take a quiz based on your ranked issues to determine which candidates align with your beliefs and why. “Glassbooth is a nonprofit organization that is creating innovative ways to access political information.” (website)
Google: Quotes From Major Presidential Candidates
http://labs.google.com/inquotes/
Quotes culled from Google News stories from Barack Obama and John McCain covering a variety of topics such as war, healthcare, the economy, taxes, etc. “Quotes and their speakers are determined automatically by a computer program and we don't guarantee the completeness or accuracy of the information you may see. The dates you see represent when the article in which the quote appears was added to Google News.” (website)
MyDebates: The Official Online Companion to the 2008 Presidential Debates
http://www.myspace.com/mydebates
Developed for the 2008 debate cycle by the partnership of the Commission for Presidential Debates and MySpace. Features related stats, an issue quiz and video clips. Also includes the standard MySpace features and links.
Presidential Debate Subject Guide
http://apollo.lib.olemiss.edu/center/subject_guide/debate/intro
“In preparation for the 26 September 2008 Presidential Debate at the University of Mississippi, the J.D. Williams Library offers this subject guide for research on the topics of presidential debates, campaigns, and elections. Potential resources include publications, databases, websites, and archival collections. This guide also provides feeds with the latest University of Mississippi debate headlines and a calendar of debate-related activities sponsored by the J.D. Williams Library.” (website)
Project Vote Smart
http://www.votesmart.org/index.htm
Project Vote Smart, a bi-partisan organization staffed by volunteers, seeks to provide voters with access to meaningful information about candidates and issues. This website provides easy access to voting records, candidate positions on major issues, interest group ratings, public statements from the candidates, and campaign financing.
Public Agenda for Citizens. Voter’s Survival Kit
http://www.publicagenda.org/citizen/electionguides
“Voter's Survival Kit is designed to help you zero in on the policy options and figure out what you want -- before you decide who you want. Then take it to the next level and find out more about the candidates and voter registration.” (website)
Rasmussen Reports
http://www.rasmussenreports.com/
Polls for the 2008 election cycle. “Rasmussen Reports is an electronic media company specializing in the collection, publication, and distribution of public opinion polling information . . . Rasmussen Reports cannot be hired to conduct a poll for anyone. For our reports, we decide the questions to ask based upon the needs and interests of our audience. If it’s in the news, it’s in our polls. One thing we’re very proud of during the political season is our bi-partisan audience. Rasmussen Reports is one of the few political sites to attract roughly equal numbers of Republicans, Democrats, and unaffiliated voters . . . Rasmussen Reports’ campaign coverage has been praised for its independence, accuracy and reliability.” (website)
SelectSmart.Com. 2008 Presidential Candidate Selector
http://www.selectsmart.com/president/2008/comparethem.html
“Contrast and compare the views, statements and voting records of the people running for president on the important issues and problems facing America. Be sure to use the Presidential Candidate Selector to see which would-be president most agrees with you on the issues. The following candidates' positions have been researched and sourced for this tool: Joe Biden, Elaine Brown, Sam Brownback, Wesley Clark, Hillary Clinton, Chris Dodd, John Edwards, Jim Gilmore, Newt Gingrich, Rudy Giuliani, Al Gore, Mike Gravel, Chuck Hagel, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, Dennis Kucinich, John McCain, Kent McManigal, Barack Obama, Ron Paul, Bill Richardson, Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo, Fred Thompson and Tommy Thompson.” (website)
 

Official Campaign Websites

Barr ‘08
http://www.bobbarr2008.com/splash/video/?s0618
The official website for Bob Barr, the Libertarian Presidential Candidate, and Vice-Presidential Running Mate Wayne Allyn Root.
Green Party of the United States
http://www.gp.org/index.php
The official website of Cynthia McKinney, the Green Party Presidential Candidate, and Vice-Presidential Running Mate Rosa Clemente.
McCain
http://www.johnmccain.com/
The official website of Republican Presidential candidate John McCain and Vice-Presidential Running Mate Sarah Palin.
Nader-Gonzalez ‘08
http://www.votenader.org/index.html
The official website of Ralph Nader, an independent presidential candidate, and Vice-Presidential Running Mate Matt Gonzalez.
Obama ‘08
http://www.barackobama.com/index.php
The official website of Democratic Presidential candidate Barack Obama and Vice-Presidential Running Mate Joe Biden.
Ron Paul’s Campaign For Liberty
http://www.campaignforliberty.com/
The official website for Republican presidential candidate Ron Paul. Paul held his own convention Rally for the Republic: http://rally.campaignforliberty.com/.

See also Candidate & Politician Bios and Election 2008: Media Perspectives and News Updates

Back to Top

 

Video/Audio Live Streams and Archives

Numerous sites offer streaming video of events from the 2008 presidential campaign season. These can include general sites such as YouTube and CSPAN.Org as well as official party and candidate campaign sites. Some sites require the viewer to watch one or more ads when viewing a video. These archives can be a valuable source for candidate speeches and political ads for personal use and for academic study.

C-SPAN Politics: Campaign 2008
http://www.c-span.org/Politics/Default.aspx
C-Span’s video coverage of the election includes videos of the political party conventions (DNC, RNC, etc.), political debates, the latest campaign ads and podcasts of its weekly election-season program Road to the White House. As with the convention coverage, C-SPAN will be streaming live the various presidential and vice-presidential debates, including the First Presidential Debate live from Ole Miss on September 26, 2008.
Election.tv
http://www.election.tv/
“Election.tv is the premier online video resource for voters and candidates. Our objective is to make videos and profiles available for every candidate for every federal, state and local election in the United States. Election.tv is non-partisan and not affiliated with any political party.” --From the “About Us” section
Gaudi: Google Audio Indexing
http://labs.google.com/gaudi
Search what the politicians say. This site from Google lets you search the audio of their archived videos. The page currently focuses on McCain and Obama.
Video from HULU.Com
Election 2008
http://www.hulu.com/spotlight/election08
Features the following in video: full length presidential debates, sound bites from the candidates, political commentary, comedy clips, candidate speeches and clips from related television shows.
Historic Campaign Ads
http://www.hulu.com/historic-campaign-ads
Aimed at the general public, Hulu has culled interesting campaign ads from the 1950’s through the 1980’s from NBC’s iCue archive.
NBC. iCue
http://www.icue.com/
This site gives students and lifelong learners access to thousands of current and historic videos and other media such as games. The site currently features a section on Decision ’08 as well as sections on US History and Government and Politics. Features include historical campaign ads from television and film.
National Public Radio: Election 2008
http://www.npr.org/templates/topics/topic.php?topicId=1102
This page features an audio stream of all stories posted.
Youth Radio: Election 2008
http://www.youthradio.org/election2008/
“Youth Radio is following Election 2008 around the country, through the perspectives of young people who are getting a close-up view of the process.” Features student reporting on the primaries, candidates, fundraising, etc. Includes news stories and video clips. Note: the “radio” portion requires iTunes for listening.
YouTube CSPAN.Org
http://www.youtube.com/user/CSPAN
YouTube interface for videos mined from CSPAN.Com. Includes a variety of videos from the election season and politics.
YouTube. You Choose ‘08
http://www.youtube.com/youchoose
Video archive highlighting the most current video clips from the 2008 election cycle. Includes videos of candidates, searchable debate videos, and videos submitted on election-related topics (videos from voters, from the campaign trail, etc.). Includes links to campaign video channels for candidates in the 2008 presidential and congressional races.
Video/Audio Archives from Official Campaign Websites
BarackTV: http://www.barackobama.com/tv/
Barr ’08 Media Center: http://www.bobbarr2008.com/media-center/
McCain/Palin: http://www.johnmccain.com/Informing/Multimedia/
McKinney & Clemente: http://votetruth08.com/index.php/media/videos
Ralph’s Daily Audio (for video, see the YouTube channel below): http://www.votenader.org/audio/
YouTube Campaign Channels:
YouTube interface for videos from 2008 presidential campaigns including videos from party conventions, political ads and speeches along the campaign trail:
Barr (Libertarian): http://www.youtube.com/user/BobBarr2008
McCain (Republican Party): http://www.youtube.com/user/JohnMcCaindotcom
McKinney (Green Party): http://www.youtube.com/user/RunCynthiaRun
Nader (Independent): http://www.youtube.com/user/votenader08
Obama (Democratic Party): http://www.youtube.com/user/BarackObamadotcom
Ron Paul (Republican): http://www.youtube.com/user/RonPaul2008dotcom

Back to Top

 

Money, Contributions and PACs

Disclosing Contributions--Campaign Finance Reports and Data
http://www.fec.gov/disclosure.shtml
Candidates receiving donations, whether from individuals or from a PAC, must file with the FEC. This official FEC web page features the following: searchable database of disclosures with searches by candidate and PAC; view or download financial disclosure reports filed electronically; view actual financial disclosure reports filed by House, Senate and presidential campaigns, parties and PACs from 1993 to the present; and other FEC public records.
FEC Filings from Prospective 2008 Presidential Campaigns
http://www.fec.gov/press/bkgnd/pres_cf/2008filings.html
This page feature financial reports from presidential candidates that have been filed electronically and are listed by candidate. Candidates include the following: Hillary R. Clinton, Barack Obama, John McCain, as well as Mitt Romney, Ron Paul, John Edwards, Dennis Kucinich, Mike Huckabee, and Rudolph Giuliani.
Huffington Post. Fundrace.
http://fundrace.huffingtonpost.com/
“FundRace makes it easy to search by name or address to see which presidential candidates your friends, family, co-workers, and neighbors are contributing to. Or you can see if your favorite celebrity is putting money where their mouth is.” (website)
How Much Can I Contribute?
http://www.fec.gov/ans/answers_general.shtml#How_much_can_I_contribute
Official table from the FEC stating contribution limits for the 2007-2008 election season. Includes the maximum amount an individual may give as well as limits for PACs and party committees.
Makinson, Larry. Open Secrets: The Encyclopedia of Congressional Money & Politics. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1994.
REF JK1991 .M26 1994 Reference, 2nd Floor
This book presents a summary of contributions received by each of the members of the U.S. House and Senate, highlighting the industries, corporations, and other groups that are the biggest contributors. In addition, contributions to members of standing committees are detailed, along with data on the largest contributors by economic sector. The distribution patterns of political action committees are also profiled.
OpenSecrets,Org Center for Responsive Politics.
http://www.opensecrets.org/index.php
“The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more responsive government.” (website)
Sharp, J. Michael. Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2006.
REF JK1051 .S555 2006 V.1 and V.2 Reference, 2nd Floor
This work contains brief bios for members of Congress along with voting records for members who served between 1947 and 2004. Voting records are shown in relation to overall party voting and support of presidential agendas. Interest groups from across the political spectrum are included in the interest group ratings section.

Back to Top

 

K-12 Resources For Students, Teachers and Parents

Ben’s Guide to the U.S. Government For Kids: Election Process
http://bensguide.gpo.gov/9-12/election/
This official website from the U.S. federal government introduces children to the basics of the democratic process of the Unites States. For the election process, the site includes information on the following: electing a president and vice president, including information on presidential primaries; electing members of congress; and registering to vote.
Congress For Kids: Elections
http://www.congressforkids.net/Elections_index.htm
This site offers simple, short reading sections that together provide an overview of the campaign and election process. A quiz follows each section. Topics include candidates and political parties, national conventions, polling places and voting day, the electoral college and inauguration.
The Democracy Project
http://pbskids.org/democracy/
From PBS, the site features the following classroom activities: being president for a day (an overview of a day in the life of the US president), how the government affects me (overview of government oversight and involvement in daily life) and step inside the voting both (an overview and history of voting in the US).
Election 2008 (Freshman Module)
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/visions/election.html
Created by librarians at Vanderbilt, this site presents a short freshmen-oriented course focusing on Election 2008. Subjects include “’Taking Out the Spin’ – Untruth in Political Advertising” and “’Voter’s Self-Defense System’ – How Do The Candidates Match Up?” Includes Election 2008 web links for relevant lesson content and discussion questions.
Fold U.S. Candidate
http://www.folduscandidate.com/
Users can download free patterns of foldable finger puppets of major presidential candidates and their wives and submit photos of their own political debates using the puppets.
Frontline. The Choice 2008
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/choice2008/
From PBS, this program focuses on the two major presidential candidates in the 2008 presidential election. Includes a bibliography for further reading, informative links and a teacher’s guide.
NBC. iCue
http://www.icue.com/
This site gives students and lifelong learners access to thousands of current and historic videos and other media such as games. The site currently features a section on Decision ’08 as well as sections on US History and Government and Politics. Features include historical campaign ads from television and film.
Time for Kids: Election Connection 2008 (Time Magazine)
http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/election08/
In addition to TFK’s usual offering of kid reporters and homework helpers, the site also features election news, overviews of the candidates, games, an “Electionary” of vocabulary for the election season and information on contacting your congressman. Its best feature is its overview of important issues for this campaign season followed by each candidate’s standing regarding that issue including: education, the environment, health care, Iraq, jobs and the economy, and terrorism and national security. Note: some activities require downloading plugins.
Parent Guide to the 2008 Presidential Elections
http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/collection.jsp?id=238
From Scholastic, this site is designed to help parents “answer kids' questions about the campaign and find activities and resources to spark lively discussion.” Helpful articles include topics such as: bringing the presidential campaign home; meeting the candidates; how to talk to your kids about the news; and parent primers on democracy, government and American history. Activities include: if you were president, match the presidents and holding a debate. The site also recommends books for further reading.
Scholastic News: Countdown to Election 2008
http://teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/indepth/election2008.htm
This site features a variety of classroom resources for teachers including student activities, tips on election coverage from NBC journalists, games and quizzes, election news stories, printable documents and lesson plans, polls, coverage of the campaign by student reporters and background articles about the election process. Note: includes some commercial promotion from Scholastic.
ThinkYouth.Com. Election 2008.
http://www.thinkyouth.org/election-2008/
“Think Youth was created out of the idea that young people who are interested in politics should have a place to come together and share their ideas. And in May of 2007, Think Youth was launched. As an organization of politically progressive teens and young adults, we feel that through our stories, our articles, and our message, we can have an impact using information as a tool to help educate others on the importance of being politically active.” (website)
Youth Radio: Election 2008
http://www.youthradio.org/election2008/
“Youth Radio is following Election 2008 around the country, through the perspectives of young people who are getting a close-up view of the process.” Features student reporting on the primaries, candidates, fundraising, etc. Includes news stories and video clips. Note: the “radio” portion requires iTunes for listening.
US Electoral College Teaching Resources
http://www.archives.gov/federal-register/electoral-college/teach.html
Links to relevant information, curriculum and web sites for election-related class sessions.

Back to Top

 

Religion and the 2008 Election

American Catholic. Election 2008 News.
http://www.americancatholic.org/News/Election2008/default.asp
Compilation of news stories from the Catholic News Service about the 2008 election. Coverage includes news items about the candidates and issues and events involving the Catholic Church. AmericanCatholic.org features information on the Catholic and Christian faith. “St. Anthony Messenger Press and Franciscan Communications conducts its publishing ministry with the official ecclesiastical approval of the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Cincinnati.” (website)
NPR. Religion.
http://www.npr.org/templates/topics/topic.php?topicId=1016
NPR’s coverage of current news of religious interest includes campaign and election coverage for the 2008 election season. “NPR (National Public Radio) is an internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. A privately supported, not-for-profit membership organization, NPR serves a growing audience of 26 million Americans each week in partnership with more than 860 independently operated, noncommercial public radio stations.” (website)
Pew Forum. Religion and Politics ’08.
http://pewforum.org/religion08/
Articles from the Pew Forum focusing on political opinion and analysis of religion and the 2008 election. “The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life . . . seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The Forum pursues its mission by delivering timely, impartial information to national opinion leaders, including government officials and journalists. As a nonpartisan, non-advocacy organization, the Forum does not take positions on policy debates.” (website)
Compare Candidates: Religion and Politics ‘08
http://pewforum.org/religion08/
The Compare Candidates feature compares the major presidential candidates’ standings on various issues for this election, including: abortion, church and states, death penalty, education, environment, Faith-based initiatives, gay marriage, health care, immigration, Iraq war, poverty and stem cell research. Coverage comprised of a paragraph for each candidate fro each issue with links to relevant information.
Election ’08: Pew Research Center’s Coverage of This Year’s Campaign.
http://pewresearch.org/topics/election'08/
Collection of articles from Pew and other organizations regarding the role of religion in the 2008 election. Pieces include reports, analysis and commentary, news stories, event transcripts and interviews. “The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues.” (website)
The Pluralism Project. Religious Diversity News. Continuing Story: Election 2008.
http://www.pluralism.org/news/index.php?cont_story_id=439
Hosted at Harvard University, The Pluralism Project’s mission is to “help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources.” This page collates the full text of relevant news stories from US and international news wires and newspapers.
Religion and Ethics Newsweekly. One Nation: Religion and Politics 2008.
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/religionandethics/blog.html
A companion website for the weekly PBS television news program. “PBS is a media enterprise that serves 355 public noncommercial television stations and reaches nearly 73 million people each week through on-air and online content. Bringing diverse viewpoints to television and the Internet, PBS provides high-quality documentary and dramatic entertainment, and consistently dominates the most prestigious award competitions. PBS is a leading provider of digital learning content for pre-K-12 educators, and offers a broad array of other educational services.” (website)
USA Today. OnPolitics: Election 2008. Religion.
http://blogs.usatoday.com/onpolitics/religion/index.html
News stories relevant to religious issues during the 2008 election.
University of Southern California. Election 2008: A Special Resource for Journalists. Stories in Religion.
http://election2008.usc.edu/topics/american-studiesculture/religion/
Election 2008 is a resource for journalists created by the media relations staff at the University of Southern California.”

Back to Top

 

Humor

About.Com: Best 2008 Campaign Humor
http://politicalhumor.about.com/od/election2008/tp/2008-election-humor.htm
Compiled by the editors at About.Com, this page includes political cartoons, spoof videos, funny campaign moments, late-night jokes from late-night shows, funny pictures of candidates, humorous quotes from presidential candidates, and links to compilations of humor involving major presidential candidates. See also 2008 Presidential Election Jokes: http://politicalhumor.about.com/od/election2008/2008_Presidential_Election_Jokes.htm
Comedy Central. Indecision 2008
http://www.indecision2008.com/
Humorous coverage of the 2008 election season from the cable network Comedy Central including: parodies of news events and humorous takes of actual wire news items, video clips from its daily humorous news shows The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, Candidate Stock Trader, daily Indecision Poll, Marching Orders (daily issues for the Right and Left), campaign photo Caption Challenge, parody video games, and satirical overviews of the candidates.
Fold U.S. Candidate
http://www.folduscandidate.com/
Users can download free patterns of foldable finger puppets of major presidential candidates and their wives and submit photos of their own political debates using the puppets.
HULU. Election 2008
http://www.hulu.com/spotlight/election08
Features videos clips of sketches and standup comedy and daily humor related to the 2008 election cycle. A good source for popular comedy sketches on video.
Michael Palin for President: Vote Silly for 2008
http://michaelpalinforpresident.com/
Election parody from comedian Michael Palin (no relation to the RNC Vice Presidential candidate) best known as a member of the British comedy troupe Monty Python Individuals who sign up online will not get SPAM but will receive a newsletter and a free fuzzy thing.
The Onion. War for the White House
http://www.theonion.com/content/whitehousewar
A popular source of “fake news” parodies and satire based on national and local news stories, The Onion’s War for the Whitehouse feature provides a humorous take on the 2008 Election including satirical features on candidates, key election issues, video clips, the election process, and a humorous political jargon glossary.
Saturday Night Live. SNL Elections 2008.
http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/politics/
Since its inception, Saturday Night Live has been known for its political humor. In the current campaign season, SNL’s political parodies have even been referenced by the candidates during debates and speeches. This page contains links to videos of recent skits and Weekend Update segments lampooning current candidates from both parties, as well as skits and appearances from past elections.
23/6: Some of the News, Most of the Time. Election 2008.
http://www.236.com/tag/Election+2008
Humor focusing on major presidential candidates and political parties as well as issues such as campaign finance and political pundits.

Back to Top

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Fletcher
Logo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Nolen
Contact Info
325-7682
Send Email
Subjects:
Humanities
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip